Previews The B-side

Crimson Performance Road Race: race preview

Mini-preview and provisional startlist for the 2021 Crimson Performance Road Race

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

For the women’s domestic peloton this weekend it’s all about the Women’s CiCLE Classic, the first National A road race for 666 days. While the men might have a longer wait (15 August) for the National Road Series to begin, they get no less than three National B road races this weekend, each with strong fields.

This is the first of our previews of the weekend’s races, focusing on the Crimson Performance Road Race.

Featured photo: Ellen Isherwood

What is it?

National B test race put on by Crimson Performance, who also run one of the country’s top elite road racing teams.

The last time the race was run, in 2019, Will Brown (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling) took the win. He’s back to defend his title this year, but he’ll need to overcome an incredibly strong field to do so.

The event also includes a Regional B men’s race, held before the National B race.

Riders to watch

Harry Tanfield (Team Qhubeka Assos) – yes, you read it right – is one of a host of talented riders on the provisional startlist. The two strongest teams look to be Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling and Team Inspired (i.e. the GB Senior Academy). For the former, Will Brown is joined by Matt Gibson (fresh from a strong performance at the Tour of Slovenia), Cameron Jeffers, Richard Jones, Joe Wilson and Simon Wilson.

The latter have a number of potential race winners. Our U23 rider to watch Sam Watson is one of those, and his teammates Alfie George, Oscar Nilsson-Julien, Max Rushby and Bob Donaldson are all capable of a good result on their day.

Other riders to look out for include Isaac Peatfield (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT), Dean Watson (Clancy Briggs Academy), who impressed with 4th place at the Return to Racing for Big Dogs and Dylan Westley (Equipo Lizarte),

Will Brown wins the 2019 Crimson Performance Road Race. Photo: Ellen Isherwood

The route

The race takes in 8 laps of the 14.2 km Old Hutton Circuit circuit, near Kendal. It’s a testing circuit, featuring 189 m of elevation per lap, and a long draggy climb to the finish.


Date: Sunday, 27 June 2021

Start: 12.30

Provisional startlist

No.ForenameSurnameClub / Team Name
1RichieAllenSaint Piran Development
2MichaelAshurstCCN UK
3FarleyBarberSpirit Tifosi Racing Team
5EdBeecherCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
6ChristopherBoothGiant-Kendal RT
7WilliamBrownRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
9MichaelChadwickClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
10JosephClarkCycling Sheffield
11CharlieCritchleyCCN UK
12FinnCrockettWheelbase CabTech Castelli
13JackCrookDolan Ellesse Race Team
14TomCullenOtley CC
15MatthewDobbingCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
17RobertDonaldsonTeam Inspired
18JonathanFowlesTeam Chronomaster
19MaciejFurczykCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
20AlfredGeorgeTeam Inspired
21MattGibsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
22MichaelGillSaint Piran Development
24BenGrangerWheelbase CabTech Castelli
25DeclanHudsonDolan Ellesse Race Team
26ChristopherHumphriesOnimpex Bio Racer RT
28CameronJeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
29JamesJobberKuwait Pro Cycling Team
30RichardJonesRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
31MatthewKingTeam PB Performance
32SamLashleyWheelbase CabTech Castelli
33JohnMackellerTactic Sport UK Race Team
34LoganMacleanWheelbase CabTech Castelli
35AdamMacRaeCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
36JamesMcKayCycling Sheffield
37ConorMcKinnonDolan Ellesse Race Team
38ThomasMitchellBirkenhead North End CC
39AdamMitchellCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
40BenjaminMoodyCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
41OscarNilsson-JulienTeam Inspired
42IsaacPeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
43GeorgePedenTeam PB Performance
45BillyRobinsonCycling Sheffield
46MaxRushbyTeam Inspired
48BradleySymondsSaint Piran
49HarryTanfieldTeam Qhubeka Assos
50TobyTanfieldCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
51MatthewTaylorCycling Sheffield
52JudeTaylorCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
53ChristopherWalkinshawTeam PB Performance
54SamWatsonTeam Inspired
55DeanWatsonClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
56DylanWestleyEquipo Lizarte
57JoeWilsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
58SimonWilsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
60FrancisWoodcockTeam SB Hub