Races Reports The B-side

Link My Ride Return to Racing for Big Dogs: report and race results

Theodor Obholzer won the first men's National B road race for 435 days

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

Men’s national road racing returned on Sunday after a 435-day absence with the aptly named ‘Return to Racing for Big Dogs‘. With a field packed with UCI Continental representation, GB Academy members, and top elite riders, many onlookers may have expected one of the bigger domestic racing names to prevail. But it was little-known under-23 Theodor Obholzer (Dolan Ellesse Race Team) who took a surprise victory on the uphill finish. Arguably his previous best was 6th at the 2020 Eddie Soens Memorial race.

Obholzer was part of a seven-man group that contested the win. SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling’s new signing Alex Peters – formerly of Team Sky and Canyon dhb – continued the renaissance he’d begun as an independent rider back in 2019 with second place after bridging up to the winning move. And first-year under-23 George Wood (Cycling Sheffield) rounded out the podium with third. Meanwhile, Josh Tarling (FlandersColor Gallo) was the best-placed junior rider with an eye-catching sixth place.

Featured image: Craig Zadoroznyj


1Theodor Obholzer Dolan Ellesse Race Team02:04.3
2Alex PetersSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling+st
3George WoodCycling Sheffield+st
4Dean WatsonClancyBriggs Cycling Academy+st
5Isaac PeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT+st
6Joshua TarlingFlandersColor Galloo +st
7Dylan WestleyEquipo Lizarte+2
8Oliver StockwellTeam Inspired+12
9Joe  WilsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling+st
10Samuel WatsonTeam Inspired+st
11Aidan LawrenceFensham Howes – MAS Desig+24
12Jack BroughCero – Cycle Division Racing Team+st
13Cameron JeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling+st
14Toby BarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT+st
15Lukas NerurkarVC Londres+st
16Jamieson BlainBIKESTRONG-KTM+st
17Alister SlaterClancyBriggs Cycling Academy+st
18Ross LambSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling+st
19Finlay PickeringFensham Howes – MAS Desig+st
20Jenson YoungSaint Piran+st
21Joseph ReesBIKESTRONG-KTM+st
22Matt GibsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling+st
23Andrew NicholsLifting Gear Prod- Cycles In Motion+st
24Michael ChadwickClancyBriggs Cycling Academy+st
25Joey WalkerCrimson Orientation Marketing RT+st
26Max PooleFensham Howes – MAS Desig+st
27Alex BraybrookeSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling+1.03
28Richard JonesRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling+1.49
29Matthew KingTeam PB Performance+3.34
30Jonathan FowlesTactic Sport UK Race Team +st
31Graham BriggsClancyBriggs Cycling Academy+3.48
32Joshua GreenwoodRoyal Cyclist’s Pesant Club Liegeois+4.22
33Jack CrookDolan Ellesse Race Team+6.44