Previews The B-side

Tim James Memorial Road Race: race preview

Mini-preview and provisional startlist for the 2021 Tim James Memorial road race, 4 July

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

With road racing returning to the UK after such a long hiatus, the season so far has already been packed with momentous occasions. But this Sunday’s National B road race based around the village of Upton in West Yorkshire is perhaps the most poignant yet…

Featured photo: James Little

What is it?

In a touching tribute to Tim James, the young, talented climber who sadly passed away earlier this year from a rare form of cancer, his team SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling has created a new National B road race: the Tim James Memorial Road Race.

A minute silence to remember Tim will be observed before the race, with SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling riders then forming the front row of the peloton for the roll out.

The race is sponsored by Informate UK Limited.

Tim James


The race will use the Upton road race circuit in West Yorkshire. The riders will complete just under 13 laps of the 9.6 km per lap, with a total race distance of 122 km. With just 51 m of ascent per lap, it’s a fairly flat course. It might not be one for the climbers then, but this doesn’t make it easy. Races on this course tend to be attritional ones. The course is very exposed, meaning the wind is often a factor. And with no real descents to speak of, riders are on the pedals all day.

Riders to watch

National B road race startlists have been packed with quality since the resumption of racing, and the trend continues this weekend. 18 of the 80 riders on the provisional startlist are from UCI Continental teams and another 6 of from the GB Senior Academy (Team Inspired).

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling top the bill, fielding a team full of quality riders. Most of the team hasn’t raced much this year, although Alex Peters has already shown his form, finishing second at the Return to Racing for Big Dogs, and will be one to watch here in particular.

The Crimson Orientation Marketing team is also out in force, fielding ten riders. Isaac Peatfield is an in-form rider, with three top tens from his four races so far this season. Joey Walker also seems in good shape and this course could suit him.

Team Inspired is also well-represented, with six riders on the provisional startlist. Sam Watson is in fantastic shape (4th at the Otley GP on Wednesday, 1st at the Crimson Performance Road Race last weekend) and if we could only pick one rider to win here, it would probably be him. Rhys Britton is very quick if it comes down to a bunch sprint.

This run-down is far from comprehensive, but other riders to keep an eye on include Chitterne Road Race winner Zeb Kyffin (Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling), fast finisher Stephen Bradbury (Saint Piran), Damien Clayton (Canyon dhb SunGod), and Tom Couzens (Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor).


Date: Sunday, 4 July 2021

Start 10.00

Provisional startlist

1William BjergfeltSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
2Alexander BraybrookeSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
3Ben HardySwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
4Ross LambSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
5Christopher LathamSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
6Ollie PeckoverSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
7Alex PetersSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
8Andrew TurnerSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
9Peter WilliamsSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
10Maciej FurczykCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
11Elliot HarrisonCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
12Oliver HuszarCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
13Adam MacRaeCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
14Leon MazzoneCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
15Adam MitchellCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
16Isaac PeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
17Chris SherriffsCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
18Alistair ThomasCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
19Joey WalkerCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
20Joseph ClarkCycling Sheffield
21William HardingCycling Sheffield
22James McKayCycling Sheffield
23Billy RobinsonCycling Sheffield
24Matthew TaylorCycling Sheffield
25Michael BrayGeared Up & CN Cycles RT
26Thomas DavisonGeared Up & CN Cycles RT
27Sam ShepherdGeared Up & CN Cycles RT
28Eliot WardInflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team
29William FosterJRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
30James JobberKuwait Pro Cycling Team
31Andrew NicholsLifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
32Christopher HumphriesOnimpex Bioracer RT
33Matthew ClementsPrivate Member
34Marco RuggeriRapha Cycling Club
35Farley BarberSpirit Racing Team
36William BrownRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
37Zeb KyffinRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
38Simon WilsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
39Steven ParsonageRichardsons-Trek RT
40Tim ShoremanRT23
41Stephen BradburySaint Piran
42Oliver MaxwellSaint Piran
43Tom MazzoneSaint Piran
44Bradley SymondsSaint Piran
45Michael GillSaint Piran Development
46Tom CouzensSpirit Racing Team
47David BrearleySquadra RT
48Liam FennerAPI-Metrow/Bodyby  JR
49Damien ClaytonCanyon DHB Sungod
50Graham BriggsClancy Briggs Cycling Academy
51Michael ChadwickClancy Briggs Cycling Academy
52Charlie RenshawClancy Briggs Cycling Academy
53Alistair SlaterClancy Briggs Cycling Academy
54Dean WatsonClancy Briggs Cycling Academy
55Matthew DobbingCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
56Struan McInnesClifton CC
57Matthew LockTAAP Cervelo
58Rhys BrittonTeam Inspired
59Robert DonaldsonTeam Inspired
60Alfred GeorgeTeam Inspired
61Oscar Nilsson-JulienTeam Inspired
62Max RushbyTeam Inspired
63Sam WatsonTeam Inspired
64Corey AshleyTeam PB Performance
65James BentleyTeam PB Performance
66Toby JarvisTeam PB Performance
67Matthew KingTeam PB Performance
68Christopher WalkinshawTeam PB Performance
69Alexander BallVanelli-Project Go
70Josh HousleyWillebrord Wil Vooruit
71David ShackletonWilsons Wheels Race Team
72Joshua RavnWold Top The Edge RT
73Ben GrangerZappi Racing Team
74Matthew KingstonZappi Racing Team
75Ben MewesZappi Racing Team
76Marcus BurnettBC Private Member
77Tom LoweBC Private Member
78Daniel McDermottBC Private Member
79Cameron RichardsonBC Private Member
80Jamie RidehalghBC Private Member


2Oliver ColeHUUB Ribble Performance Academy
3Liam DavisonJRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
4Jack MooreEast Lancashire RC
5George PedenTeam PB Performance
6Alexander PritchardOVB
7Alexander ShepherdIlkeston Cycle Club
8Daniel SmithTS Racing
9Mark WalkerWold Top The Edge RT
10Josh WhiteheadTeam PB Performance