Previews Races

Holohan Coaching road race: race preview

Mini-preview and start list for the third men's National B road race of the season

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

Following the return of men’s national road racing two weekends ago at Chitterne and the Return to Racing for Big Dogs, comes the third men’s National B road race of the year, the Holohan Coaching road race.

Featured photo: James Little

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 1900x540.jpg

What is it?

National B race sponsored by Holohan Coaching. As with all road racing events at the moment, Covid-19 restrictions apply, meaning the field is capped at 60 riders.

As with the previous two men’s National B road races this year, the race boasts a strong field, as top-level domestic riders take the opportunity to get in some much-needed race miles. The event will also include a Regional A race in the morning.

“The course is long-established and has served up some classic races in the past”, says co-organiser Chris Pook. “Former Pinarello rider Mike Jones won on it a few times and Malcolm Elliot won in 2004 in a field that included a good placing for Matt Stephens and a top ten for Matt Bottrill. I also remember a classic windy race at the end of Mark Lovatt’s career that saw the field in pieces from quite early on and a top five for the man himself. A young Dan McLay also finished second early in his career.”

In recent years it’s mainly been used for Regional A races (including editions won by Pook himself) but Pook says that given the lack of high-level domestic racing in the UK over the past 18 months, “we were determined to do our bit and try to help reinvigorate it”.


The provisional startlist includes 13 UCI Continental riders. There are three riders each from Canyon dhb SunGod (Damien Clayton, Andy Tennant and Reece Wood) and Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling (Cameron Jeffers, Tom Timothy and Jacob Tipper). Saint Piran, meanwhile, feature seven of their team, including their ever-strong rider-manager Steve Lampier. Race sponsor Liam Holohan is also a DS at Saint Piran and will no doubt be looking to assess his riders ahead of their forthcoming UCI races.

There is plenty of strength beyond the UCI Continental teams, including Toby Barnes (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT), who won the elite men’s criterium at the Loughborough Cycling Festival last weekend, first-year U23 George Wood (Cycling Sheffield), who was third at the Return to Racing for Big Dogs, GB Senior Academy rider Jack Rootkin-Gray (GB Senior Academy), Matt King (Team PB Performance), winner at the Doncaster crit on Saturday, and Joshua Giddings (Z Junior Race Team), who was the best-placed junior at Chitterne.

The route

Starting in Leighton, Shropshire, the race takes in six laps of a 15.6 km circuit. With a few additional kilometres as the race rolls out of Leighton Village Hall to join the main circuit, the total length is 93 km.

“It’s a real racers’ course”, according to Pook. “The steady climb to the finish line each lap ensures that only the strongest can contest the sprint to the line as you’ve often been anaerobic for a few minutes by then”, he tells us. “Normally it ends in a breakaway of 6-8 riders as the course wears people down without there being one particularly tough section that causes a split. The course favours those who like to attack as with some of the twisty roads you can get you out of sight fairly quickly.”


Date: Sunday, 6 June 2021

Start: 14.00

Provisional startlist

No.ForenameSurnameClub / Team NameCat
1CharlesAgerVredestein Basso2nd
2FarleyBarberSpirit Racing Team2nd
3TobyBarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT1st
4DanielBarnesSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus2nd
5GeorgeBeckVCA du Bourget2nd
6EdBeecherCrimson Orientation Marketing RT2nd
7JamesBentleyTeam PB Performance1st
8CameronBiddleVredestein Basso1st
9JackBroughCero – Cycle Division Racing Team2nd
10JamesChapmanTeam PB Performance1st
11PeterCockerRichardsons-Trek RTElite
12MatthewEllisSaint Piran2nd
13IwanEvansSaint Piran2nd
14JoeEvansSaint Piran1st
15SebastianGarryNopinz Motip Race Team1st
16CharlieGennerZappi Racing Team2nd
17JoshuaGiddingsZ Junior Race Team1st
18BenGrangerZappi Racing Team1st
19WilliamHardingCycling Sheffield2nd
20ElliotHarrisonCrimson Orientation Marketing RT1st
21JoshHousleyWillebrord Wil Vooruit1st
22ChristopherHumphriesOnimpex Bioracer RT2nd
23LiamJames-MorrisWales Racing Academy2nd
24CameronJeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling1st
26MatthewKingTeam PB PerformanceElite
27ThomasKirkVredestein Basso2nd
28SteveLampierSaint PiranElite
29MatthewLewisUrbano Cycling TeamElite
30BenLloydFibrax Wrexham Roads Club2nd
31ThomasLowtherVredestein Basso2nd
32OliverMaxwellSaint Piran1st
33TomMazzoneSaint Piran1st
34LeonMazzoneCrimson Orientation Marketing RT2nd
36CameronMcLarenNopinz Motip Development Team2nd
37OliverPeckoverUpShift Nutrition Race Team1st
38ChristopherQuinOnimpex Bioracer RT2nd
39JackRootkin-GrayTeam InspiredElite
40TomRoperInflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team2nd
41JamesSatoorCero – Cycle Division Racing Team2nd
42DominicSchilsVelo Schils – Interbike RTElite
43DamienClayton Canyon DHB SungodElite
44AlexanderShepherdIlkeston Cycle Club2nd
45DanielShoobridgeNopinz Motip Race Team1st
46BenStockdaleCotswold Cycles-TREK -RT2nd
47AndrewTennantCanyon DHB Sungod1st
48AlistairThomasCrimson Orientation Marketing RT1st
49ThomasTimothyRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling2nd
50JacobTipperRibble Weldtite Pro CyclingElite
51LucasTowersCero – Cycle Division Racing Team2nd
52WilliamTrueloveWales Racing Academy1st
53CharlesWalkerSpirit Racing TeamElite
54EliotWardInflite-Dynamic Rides Race TeamElite
55AlexanderWelburntrainSharp Club1st
56JoshWhiteheadTeam PB Performance2nd
57MattWittsNopinz Motip Race Team1st
58ReeceWoodCanyon DHB Sungod1st
59GeorgeWoodCycling Sheffield1st
60JensonYoungSaint Piran2nd