Previews Races The B-side

Link My Ride Return to Racing for Big Dogs: race preview

Mini-preview and start list for one of the first men's National B road races of the season, 23 May 2021

Men’s national road racing returns this weekend, hot on the heels of the first women’s National B race of the year last Sunday. The men get not one but two National B road races, the ‘Return to Racing for Big Dogs’ and the Chitterne Road Race. This mini-preview takes a closer look at the former.

What is it?

A National B test race put on by Giles Pidcock, and sponsored by Link My Ride. specifically designed to provide some of the UK’s top domestic riders a much-needed opportunity to race. As the race manual itself says, “It’s obviously been a very difficult year for many people but for those of you trying to build a career in bike racing it will have been awful”. As with all road racing events at the moment, Covid-19 restrictions apply, meaning the field is capped at 60 riders and spectators are asked not to attend.

The race boasts an incredibly strong field. The provisional start list (see below) includes eighteen UCI Continental riders, two GB Senior Academy riders, top juniors, and a swathe of riders from top domestic and international elite teams. For most riders, it will be their first road race of the year, so motivation levels should be high.

The route

The race incorporates six laps of the Holmfirth CC road race circuit. The race manual describes the course as “one-third flat, one-third descending and one-third climbing”.

Each lap is 13.3 km long, with 197 m of climbing, according to VeloViewer. The main climb, on the northern part of the circuit, ascends in a series of steps with the finish line positioned roughly halfway up.


Date: Sunday, 23 May 2021

Start: 10.00

Finish: 12.00 approx


No.NameClub / Team
1Griff LewisBackstedt Bike Performance RC
5Damien ClaytonCanyon DHB Sungod
6Thomas MeinCanyon DHB Sungod
7Rob ScottCanyon DHB Sungod
8Jack BroughCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
9Graham BriggsClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
10Michael ChadwickClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
11Alister SlaterClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
12Dean WatsonClancyBriggs Cycling Academy
13Matthew DobbingCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
14Aaron PrestonCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
15Toby TanfieldCleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman
16Toby BarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
17Elliot HarrisonCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
18James HillCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
19Isaac PeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
20Jude TaylorCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
21Joey WalkerCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
22Matthew TaylorCycling Sheffield
23George WoodCycling Sheffield
24Jack CrookDolan Ellesse Race Team
25Theodor ObholzerDolan Ellesse Race Team
26Dylan WestleyEquipo Lizarte
27Josh CharltonFensham Howes – MAS Design
28Aidan LawrenceFensham Howes – MAS Design
29Finlay PickeringFensham Howes – MAS Design
30Max PooleFensham Howes – MAS Design
31Joshua TarlingFlandersColor Galloo
32Eliot WardInflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team
33James JobberKuwait Pro Cycling Team
34Andrew NicholsLifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
35Sam HollisPrologue Racing Team
36William BrownRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
37Matt  GibsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
38Cameron JeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
39Richard  JonesRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
40Joe WilsonRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
41Matti DobbinsRT23
42Joe EvansSaint Piran
43Bradley SymondsSaint Piran
44Jenson YoungSaint Piran
45David BollandSpirit Racing Team
46Alex BraybrookeSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
47Ross LambSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
48Chris LathamSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
49Alex PetersSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
50Andrew TurnerSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling
51Matthew LockTAAP Cervelo
52Joseph BowersTactic Sport UK Race Team
53Jonathan FowlesTactic Sport UK Race Team
54Oliver StockwellTeam Inspired
55Samuel WatsonTeam Inspired
56Nathan SmithTeam Novo Nordisk Development
57Matthew KingTeam PB Performance
58Oliver ReesTRINITY Road Racing
59Marcus BurnettZappi Racing Team
60James CoatesPrivate Member

Reserve list

No.NameClub / Team
61Ross BirrellSpokes Racing Team
62Joshua GreenwoodRoyal Cyclist’s Pesant Club Liegeois
63Harry HardcastleWheelbase CabTech Castelli
64Lukas NerurkarVC Londres
65Eugene CrossLifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
67Thomas DavisonGeared Up & CN Cycles RT
68Hamish GrahamPrivate Member
69Billy RobinsonCycling Sheffield
70Callum ThornleySpokes Racing Team

Featured photo: James York. 2019 Clayton Velo race.