Previews The B-side

Mini-preview: Primavera Road Race, 6 March

Organised by Mid Devon CC, the Primavera RR marks the start of the road racing season in South West England

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

The second National B road race of 2022 takes place today (6 March) the Primavera Road Race, organised by Mid Devon CC. It marks the start of the road racing season in South West England.

The 89km race starts and finishes by Hatherleigh and incorporates the four laps of the Halwill Junction circuit, taking in 1,257 m of elevation. The race action begins at 10.30.

The start list includes riders from Saint Piran’s new feeder team 05/03, Embark-Bikestrong, Nopinz Motip RT, Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor, Team Tor 2000 and the Wales Racing Academy.

Ben Pease (Moonglu CC) won the delayed 2021 edition, held in August, while Tom Nancarrow (Nopinz) won the last springtime edition in 2020.

Damien Clayton (WiV SunGod) won the first National B of the season, the Perfs Pedal, last month.

See our National B road race calendar here.

Featured photo: Phipps Images. Tom Nancarrow wins the 2020 edition of the race.