Features Reports

2022 Perfs Pedal road race: report and results

Damien Clayton goes one better than his second place in 2019

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

The British road racing season began on Sunday with the Perfs Pedal road race. Renowned for taking place in grim conditions, the 2022 edition didn’t disappoint, with strong winds and rain battering the riders throughout.

The weather conditions and the lumpy terrain served to whittle down the field in the early laps but the first major move came with two laps to go when former Alpecin-Fenix pro Alex Richardson hit out on a solo break.

Alex Richardson leads solo. Photo: Tom Austin

Josh Whitehead (WiV SunGod) was among the riders that worked to keep Richardson’s gap in check, before his teammate Damien Clayton – second in the race in 2019 – clipped off the front of the bunch with under-23 rider Samuel Painter (La Tova) on the final lap.

Sam Painter and Damien Clayton in pursuit. Photo: Tom Austin

An untimely pinch puncture with four kilometres to go put paid to Alex Richardson’s hopes of victory, however. Clayton seized the advantage in the closing stages, breaking clear from Painter to take the win, the fifth victory in a row at the race for Tim Elverson‘s team.

Behind, junior rider Euan Woodliffe led in the reduced bunch to take an impressive third place, marking him as one to watch in the season ahead. The Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor team rounded out the rest of the top five through Farley Barber and Joshua Price.

Damien Clayton takes the win. Photo: Tom Austin

“I quite enjoyed the rain,” Clayton said after the race. “I wore the right kit, so unlike some others I was actually quite warm on the bike. There was a lot of pressure coming in today. Tim’s never lost this race, so we had to deliver with one of us and there was only two of us today.”

Featured photo: Hugh McManus


177Damien ClaytonWiV SungodE
294Samuel PainterLa Tova1
33Euan WoodliffeBackstedt Bike Performance RT2J
451Farley BarberSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor2
552Joshua PriceSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor2
633George SmithPrimera-TeamJobsE
722Matthew HoulbergMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT1
821Jack FreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RTE
973Joe HoltWales Racing AcademyE
101Alex PatonBC PME
1132Chris McNamaraNunn-Sigma Sport-London RT1
1242Conor McGoldrickRichardsons Trek DasE
1343Aaron FreemanRichardsons Trek Das2
1426Daniel ShoebridgeNopinz Motip RT1
1590David RoperNopinz Motip DT2
1679Josh WhiteheadWiV Sungod1
1712Jack CrookDolan Ellesse RT1
1870Oliver HurdleStolen Goat RT2
1947Jordan PeacockSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor1
2044Rory BarrettSouthborough & District Wh1
2171Thomas HealStolen Goat RT2
2224Samuel ClarkNetilar Telecom-Ale1
2383Calum MoirZ Junior RT2J
2455Jude ChamberlainZ Junior RT2J
2536Jordan GilesPrimera-TeamJobs1
2620Richard ToddLe Col2
2759Joshua GollikerTrainSharp DT2J
2886Luke GoodwillVC Londres3J
2941Michael WeaversProject 512
3015Lucas JowettFlandersColor Galloo2J
3169Matthew GilmourVC Venta3J
3289Joseph SurmonUniversity of Bristol CC3
3361Harry IvesTrainSharp DT2
3416Jacob SchnabelMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT2
3550Thomas PriceSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor2
3657Steven JonesTeam Tor 2000 Kalas1
379Harry JohnsonCC Plancoetin1
388Jack ReboursCaesarean CC Jersey2J
3914Griff LewisFlandersColor Galloo2J
4048Joshua AverySpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor1
4123Felix WhetterMid Devon CC2J
422Dylan HicksBackstedt Bike Performance RT2J
DNF27Cameron McLarenNopinz Motip RT1
DNS6Lewis HolmesBCC RT2J
DNF11Declan HudsonDolan Ellesse RT1
DNF17Dylan Humber-KellyJRC Interflow RT2J
DNS25Travis BramleyNopinz Motip RT1
DNF28James AshcroftNopinz Motip RT1
DNF39Ian VaggProject 512
DNF45Keith HendersonSouthborough & District Wh2
DNF54Jack FothergillStolen Goat RT2
DNF56Jack DallynTeam Tor 2000 Kalas2
DNF58Noah HobbsTekkerz CC2J
DNF60Jacob JamesTrainSharp DT2
DNF62Torin HendersonTrainSharp DT2
DNF63Joe HillUpshift Nutrition RTE
DNS64Oliver ManghamVC Londres2J
DNF72Thomas GrigsonStolen Goat RT2
DNF74Harvey McNaughtonWales Racing Academy1
DNF75William RobertsWales Racing Academy1
DNF81George GrayZ Junior RT2J
DNF84Rory KnowlesZ Junior RT2J
DNF85Oliver AkersZ Junior RT3J
DNF87Luke Monte GuerriniForan CC2
DNF92Alex RichardsonLCCCE
DNF93Yanto BarkerLCCC2
DNS10George WoodCycling Sheffield1
DNS13Joshua TarlingFlandersColor Galloo1J
DNS80Euan MacleodWiV Sungod2
DNS53Lucas RowleyTactic Sport UK RT2
DNS5Jamie BrownBCC RT2J
DNS4Edward HopkinsBCC RT2J
DNS66Anthony MorrisVC Londres2J
DNS18William JewittJRC Interflow RT2
DNS78Reece WoodWiV Sungod1
DNS65Conor WilliamsVC Londres2J
DNS49Angus HawkinsSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor1
DNF46Michael MottramSpectra Wiggle P/B VitusE
DNF40Adam CotterellProject 512
DNF30George FowlerNopinz Motip RT2
DNF31Andrew CritchlowNorwood Paragon1
DNF88Max FlemingUniversity of Reading2
DNF76Toby ManningWessex RC2
DNF67Thomas CaineVC Meudon2J
DNF68Felix TuckVC Meudon2J
DNF38Ashley NewmanPrimera-TeamJobs2
DNF34Luke BarfootPrimera-TeamJobs1
DNF29Matt WittsNopinz Motip RT1
DNF91Gabriel DellarSouthampton University RC3
DNF19Ethan BrowneJRC Interflow RT2
DNF35Nicholas TyriePrimera-TeamJobs1
DNF37Samuel WadsleyPrimera-TeamJobs2
DNF7James BevanBikestrong KTM1
DNF82William SmithZ Junior RT2J