Reports The B-side

Ella Barnwell wins first national road race for 428 days

Brief report and results from the Halesowen A&CC women’s road race

20-year-old Ella Barnwell carved out a small piece of road racing history on Sunday by winning the first national road race for 428 days. The Great Britain Senior Academy rider won the Halesowen A&CC’s women’s road race, the first National B road race since the Betty Pharoah Memorial road race in March 2020.

As we highlighted in our mini-preview, the race was packed with some of Britain’s top domestic road racing talent, keen to test their legs again after such a long road racing hiatus. The talented and eager field was treated to some heavy rain and a challenging circuit incorporating climbs, technical descents and typically British grippy roads. It all combined for a particularly tough afternoon of racing.

Welsh rider Barnwell took the honours after a lead-out from her GB Senior Academy/Team Breeze teammates. One of those teammates, Eluned King (one of our U23 riders to watch), finished second, with junior Zoe Bäckstedt (Tormans-ACROG) rounding out the podium to complete a Welsh 1-2-3. Fittingly, Peter Kibble, the winner of the Betty Pharoah Memorial, is also Welsh.

Earlier that day, Kirk Vickers (Holohan Coaching Race Team) won the men’s 2/3/4 Cat race as part of the same event.

Barnwell wins ahead of Zoe Bäckstedt and Eluned King. Photo: Bob MacGregor

National B road racing continues next Sunday with three races: the Banbury Star Women’s Road Race, the men’s Chitterne Road Race, and the Link my Ride Return to Racing for Big Dogs.

Featured photo: Bob MacGregor


1Ella BarnwellTeam Wales
2Eluned KingLiv Cycling Club – Halo Cycles
3Zoe BackstedtTormans-ACROG
4Josie NelsonIsorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling Team
5Francesca HallLoughborough Lightning – TRG
6Isabel DarvillTeam Boompods
7Jasmine JonesBianchi Dama
8Ella Maclean-HowellTofauti Everyone Active
9Heather MayerTeam Watto-LDN
10Jessica FinneyCAMS-Basso
11Madeleine GammonsJadan – Vive le Velo
12Daisy BarnesBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
13Bexy DewSaint Piran WRT
14Grace ListerCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
15Abi SmithTeam Breeze
16Hayley SimmondsCAMS-Basso
17Megan BarkerCAMS-Basso
18Illi GardnerCAMS-Basso
19Becky StorrieBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
21Jo TindleyCAMS-Basso
22Natalie GrinczerCAMS-Basso
23Millie CouzensPH-MAS – Paul Milnes Cycles
24Madelaine LeechPH-MAS – Paul Milnes Cycles
25Emma EdwardsCAMS-Basso
26Sophie LewisTeam Breeze (UCI Track Team)
27Monica GreenwoodMacclesfield Wheelers
28Sian BotteleyBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
29Alderney BakerLoughborough Lightning – TRG
30Katie ScottCAMS-Basso
31Laura SeniorSaint Piran WRT
32Hannah LancasterLoughborough Lightning – TRG
33Louise HartCampinense – Velo Performance
34Matea DeliuTeam Watto-LDN
35Gemma SargentSaint Piran WRT
36Flora KnightLoughborough Lightning – TRG
37Lydia WattsAwol
38Xan CreesSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
39Emma JeffersJRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
40Chloe VickersLoughborough Lightning – TRG
41Meg SmithLoughborough Lightning – TRG
42Ellen InglisBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm
DNFPolly BurgeJadan – Vive le Velo
DNFCharlotte BerryPro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen
DNFKinga IngramStorey Racing
DNFCharlotte GibsonAwol
DNFGabriella HomerTeam Rupelcleaning – Champion Lubricants
DNFFfion JamesHope Factory Racing
DNFMillie NobleUpShift Nutrition Race Team
DNFKate WoottonCAMS-Basso
DNFmaddie wadsworthWatersley R&D Cycling Team
DNFJennifer PowellCAMS-Basso
DNFBeth CrumptonSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
DNFSian ReynoldsSprinteur Club FÈminin
DNFLeah DixonTeam TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
DNFKeri PartonPro Vision
DNFPhoebe MartinAWOL- OShea
DNSOlivia BentleyNatural Greatness – Vib Sports
DNSGabriella NordinTW1 Racing
DNSRuth ShierTeam LDN – Brother UK