Previews Startlists The B-side

National B road racing returns: Halesowen A&CC’s women’s road race preview

Mini-preview and startlist: Halesowen A&CC's women's road race

It has been 428 days since Peter Kibble won the Betty Pharoah Memorial road race. That was the last time a National B road race was held in the UK, the last opportunity for the top domestic road racers to compete on the road.

All that changes today with Halesowen A&CC women’s road race. The race might be limited to a 42-mile course (or two hours max) and the field might be capped at 60 riders, but it marks an important milestone toward what we hope is a return to some normality for UK road racing.

It’s a stacked field too. As one team manager told us, the race will have “more women’s UCI & elite domestic riders than most National Road Series races”. Riders on the provisional start list (see below) include no less than ten riders from the UCI Continental CAMS-Basso team, riders from the other British UCI teams, Drops-Le Col s/b Tempur and AWOL O’Shea, junior sensation Zoe Backstedt, GB Senior Academy riders Ella Barnwell and Sophie Lewis, and virtual Women’s Tour winner Leah Dixon (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank). Our journal contributors Abi Smith (GB Senior Academy) and Charliiy Berry (Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen) are also slated to ride.

The event will also be poignant for very different reasons. Halesowen A&CC is mourning the loss of former member and academy rider Nick Clayton, who died on Monday at just 23 years of age. Nick had been taken ill with t-cell lymphoma, a form of blood cancer, in January. The men’s race (for Cat 2/3/4), held in the morning, will include a special prize in honour of Nick, awarded to the best junior in the race.


42 miles of relatively flat terrain, starting and finishing near Astley Village Hall, Stourport-on-Severn.

The women’s race kicks off at 14.30 BST.

Provisional startlist

#First nameSurnameTeam
2AlderneyBakerLoughborough Lightning – TRG
4DaisyBarnesBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 
5EllaBarnwellTeam Wales
6OliviaBentleyNatural Greatness – Vib Sports
7CharlotteBerryPro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes – Heidi Kjeldsen
8SianBotteleyBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 
9PollyBurgeJadan – Vive le Velo
10MillieCouzensPH-MAS – Paul Milnes Cycles
11XanCreesSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
12IsabelDarvillTeam Boompods
13MateaDeliuTeam Watto-LDN
14BexyDewSaint Piran WRT
15LeahDixonTeam TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
18MadeleineGammonsJadan – Vive le Velo
21MonicaGreenwoodMacclesfield Wheelers
23FrancescaHallLoughborough Lightning – TRG
24LouiseHartCampinense – Velo Performance
25GabriellaHomerTeam Rupelcleaning – Champion Lubricants
26EllenInglisBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 
27KingaIngramStorey Racing
28FfionJamesHope Factory Racing
29EmmaJeffersJRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team
30JasmineJonesBianchi Dama 
31ElunedKingLiv Cycling Club – Halo Cycles
32FloraKnightLoughborough Lightning – TRG
33HannahLancasterLoughborough Lightning – TRG
34MadelaineLeechPH-MAS – Paul Milnes Cycles
35SophieLewisTeam Breeze (UCI Track Team)
36GraceListerCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
37EllaMaclean-HowellTofauti Everyone Active
38PhoebeMartinAWOL- O’Shea
39HeatherMayerTeam Watto-LDN
41JosieNelsonIsorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling Team
42MillieNobleUpShift Nutrition Race Team 
43GabriellaNordinTW1 Racing
44KeriPartonPro Vision 
45LauraPittardBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 
47SianReynoldsSprinteur Club Féminin
48GemmaSargentSaint Piran WRT
50LauraSeniorSaint Piran WRT
51RuthShierTeam LDN – Brother UK
53MegSmithLoughborough Lightning – TRG
54AbiSmithTeam Breeze
55BeckyStorrieBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm 
57ChloeVickersLoughborough Lightning – TRG
58MaddieWadsworthWatersley R&D Cycling Team

Featured photo: Alex Whitehead/ 2019 HSBC UK Women’s National Road Series – East Cleveland Klondike GP.