2022 British Team Cup: short report and results

Sammie Stuart won round 2 of the British Team Cup on Sunday 17 April

Team LDN-Brother UK’s Sammie Stuart won a rapid British Team Cup race as she out-dragged the field in Coalville.

A nearly full field took on the traditional early season race, organised by Nick Horner-Maddox and Coalville Wheelers, which saw the women’s peloton stretch its legs ahead of the National Road Series opener at the Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix on Sunday 8 May.

The action properly kicked off halfway through the seven-lap race as Gemma Seargent (Saint Piran WRT), clipped off the front and stayed away for a full lap before the bunch brought her back.

Seargent’s speculative surge was the only move that got away, however, with the bunch sticking together until the end. Stuart bested the competition in a hard-fought sprint ahead of Beth Harley-Jepson (Jadan – Vive le Velo) and Lucy Harris (LAKA Pedal Mafia RT).

“I was quite shocked by the win. I hadn’t expected anything from the race. We had a plan in place, based around our sprinter, Lucy Lee, and we rode really well as a team, talking to each other throughout the race. It felt like a real team effort,” Stuart told Brother Cycling after the race.

“On the last lap, the race just came to me. A repetitive hill course plays in my favour. I was at the back of the lead group going into the final corner. I knew I had the legs for the climb, and I know have a Iong sprint, so I just thought, ‘Why not try it?’
“I saw a group of three riders ahead of me, so I sprinted and bridged to them and then just kept going!”



#NameTeamTeam Cup Points
1Sammie StuartTeam LDN – Brother UK150
2Beth Harley-JepsonJadan – Vive le Velo130
3Lucy HarrisLAKA Pedal Mafia RT115
4Grace ListerBrother UK-Orientation marketing100
5Ella JamiesonLiv Cycling Club – Halo Films90
6Awen RobertsLiv Cycling Club – Halo Films80
7Gabriella HomerSaint Piran WRT70
8Ellen BennettBrother UK-Orientation marketing65
9Niamh MurphyLiv Cycling Club – Halo Films60
10Lucy EllmorePro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen55
11Rebecca RichardsStorey Racing52
12Penny ColloffLAKA Pedal Mafia RT49
13Xan CreesSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus47
14Kinga IngramStorey Racing45
15Lucy LeeTeam LDN – Brother UK43
16Sophie EneverAbingdon Race Team41
17Eline SmitLAKA Pedal Mafia RT39
18Zoe BackstedtELLMORE 
19Gemma SargentSaint Piran WRT35
20Poppy ThompsonPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen33
21Heather MayerTeam LDN – Brother UK32
22Sophie ColdwellLoughborough Lightning – TRG31
23Emily ProudGrinta Coaching30
24Emma MatthewsELLMORE 
25Georgina PaulAbingdon Race Team28
26Abigail CooperBrother UK-Orientation marketing27
27Gabriella ShawSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus26
28Katie-Anne CaltonELLMORE 
29Francesca HallLoughborough Lightning – TRG24
30Emily TillettLoughborough Lightning – TRG23
31Roisin LallyLoughborough Lightning – TRG22
32Joanne ClarkeStolenGoat Race Team21
33Leah DixonBianchi Hunt Morvelo20
34Gwenno HughesSaint Piran WRT19
35Alderney BakerBianchi Hunt Morvelo18
36Amy GornallPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen17
37Laura SeniorLAKA Pedal Mafia RT16
38Kerry MiddletonTeam LDN – Brother UK15
39Emma WatsonGrinta Coaching14
40Laura PittardBrother UK-Orientation marketing13
41Ailsa McLaganAbingdon Race Team12
42Alison FovargueTeam Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com11
43Matilda McKibbenLiv Cycling Club – Halo Films10
44Rebekah NashJadan – Vive le Velo9
45Amelia SouthallAWOL Worx Galliard8

Team points

1Liv Cycling Club – Halo Films240
1Team LDN – Brother UK240
3LAKA Pedal Mafia RT219
4Brother UK-Orientation marketing205
5Jadan – Vive le Velo139
6Saint Piran WRT124
7Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen105
8Loughborough Lightning – TRG100
9Storey Racing97
10Abingdon Race Team81
11Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus73
12Grinta Coaching44
13Bianchi Hunt Morvelo38
14StolenGoat Race Team21
15Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com11
16AWOL Worx Galliard8

Team Cup standings after Round 2

#Team Points
1Team LDN – Brother UK402
2LAKA Pedal Mafia RT373
3Brother UK-Orientation marketing348
4Saint Piran WRT318
5Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen310
6Liv CC Halo Films240
7Jadan – Vive le Velo239
8Grinta Coaching236
10Storey Racing149
11Abingdon Race Team145
12Spectra Wiggle p/b vitus128
13Paceline RT103
14Loughborough Lightning / TRG100
15AWOL Worx Galliard 95
16Onyx Racing Team48
17Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling47
18Stolen Goat Race Team36
19Team Watto-LDN32
20Avid Sport 18
21Team Empella Cyclo Cross.com11
22Cowley Road Condors6
231904 RT1

Featured photo: Mick Brown