Features Reports

2022 Yorkshire Under-23 Classic: race report and results

Samuel Clark of the trainSharp Development Team takes a surprise win at the opening round of the Under-23 Men's National Road Series

The country’s top UK-based espoirs were blessed with fine spring weather for the Yorkshire Under-23 Classic on Easter Sunday in Upper Denby, West Yorkshire, the first round of the Under-23 Men’s National Road Series.

The peloton speeds past. Photo: Joe Cotterill / The British Continental


As predicted by the team managers beforehand, the racing was open and aggressive from the start, with the formulation of the breakaway riders constantly changing throughout the first hour of the race. James Harrison (Manx Viking Wheelers), Josh Price (Spirit BSS) and Tom Mitchell (trainSharp) were the first men to break clear, leading the bunch after the first of nine laps of the 13.2 km circuit.

By lap 4, the break had swelled to eight. Mitchell had dropped back, while Harrison and Price were joined by James Hartley (Cycling Sheffield), Jamieson Blain (Embark-Bikestrong), Samuel Clark (trainSharp Development Team), Thomas Lowther, Matthew Ellis (both SRCT Muc-Off), and Price’s teammate Farley Barber. Their advantage yo-yoed as WiV SunGod riders Toby Barnes and Josh Whitehead lead the chase behind. By lap 6, however, the gap had gone out to one and a half minutes as WiV SunGod paused their pursuit.

Josh Whitehead (WiV SunGod) leads the chase. Photo: Joe Cotterill / The British Continental

The breakaway still had a 40-second advantage as they took the bell to signal the last lap of racing. It was at this moment that Samuel Clark pressed on, gapping his breakaway companions and escaping alone. The breakaway was shattered in the melee, with many being caught by the splintering bunch on the final lap.

Toby Barnes managed to escape with Jack Rootkin-Gray (Team Inspired) but a crash for the latter slowed Barnes’ advance. Nonetheless, he caught all but Clark who managed to hold on for a classy solo victory. Barnes came in alone to claim second place, while Farley Barber pipped Jameson Blain as they sprinted it out for third. The rest of the top ten came from the fractured bunch.

Samuel Clark takes the win. Photo: Joe Cotterill / The British Continental

After the finish, Clark, a relative outsider for the win today, told us how he played it.

“Last time up here, I pressed on, looked round, and had a bit of a gap. So I just carried on going and tried to hold on,” he said. He told us the Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix on 8 May will be his next race and that he will “definitely” be back to defend his Series lead at the next round, which takes place in the Central Region on 5 June.

One thing seems certain, the 21-year-old won’t be underestimated the next time he takes to the start line.

Samuel Clark post-race interview with James McKay


#First nameSurnameTeam/ClubTime
1SamuelClarktrainSharp Development Team02:52.4
2TobyBarnesWiV SunGod+ 21′
3FarleyBarberSpirit BSS+ 34′
4JamiesonBlainEmbark Bikestrongst
5JamesHarrisonManx Viking Wheelers+ 47′
6LoganMacleanWheelbase Cabtech+ 49′
7GeorgeWoodCycling Sheffieldst
8EdwardMorganWales Racing Academy+ 50′
9JoesphReesEmbark Bikestrongst
10CallumThornleyWheelbase Cabtech+ 56′
11TimShoremanWheelbase Cabtechst
12JackRootkin-GrayTeam Inspiredst
13JamesAshcroftStolen Goat RTst
14DavidHirdEmbark Bikestrongst
15EuanMacleodWiV SunGodst
16JoeWilsonDolan Ellessest
17DanielBarnesSpectra Wigglest
18MatthewHoulbergMeudon Pedal Heavenst
20MatthewLordHart Performancest
21JoshWhiteheadWiV SunGodst
22AaronFreemanRichardsons-Trek DASst
23JacquesCoatesTeam PB Performancest
24LucasRowleyTactic Supportst
26MatthewWarhurstSRCT Muc-Offst
27BenGrangerZappi RTst
28WilliamHardingCycling Sheffieldst
29SamKettlewellTS Racingst
30SamuelAskerRichardsons-Trek DASst
31AdamMitchellCycling Sheffield+ 1’38”
32JamesAlexanderEmbark Bikestrongst
33TobyTanfieldRetelec-Alca st
34JoshuaPriceSpirit BSS+ 2’52”
35JamesHartleyCycling Sheffieldst
36GeorgeRadcliffeIdentity Racingst
37JackRamsbottomCaffi Gruffst
38JamesSatoorHolohan Coachingst
39BenBrightCoed Llandeglast
40MattFoxWheelbase Cabtech+ 9’10”
41LiamJames-MorrisWales Racing Academyst

Series standings

#First nameSurnameTeam/ClubPoints
1SamuelClarktrainSharp Development Team30
2TobyBarnesWiV SunGod28
3FarleyBarberSpirit BSS26
4JamesonBlainEmbark Bikestrong24
5JamesHarrisonManx Viking Wheelers22
6LoganMacleanWheelbase Cabtech20
7GeorgeWoodCycling Sheffield18
8EdwardMorganWales Racing Academy16
9JoesphReesEmbark Bikestrong14
10CallumThornleyWheelbase Cabtech12
11TimShoremanWheelbase Cabtech10
12JackRootkin-GrayTeam Inspired9
13JamesAshcroftNopinz Motip8
14DavidHirstEmbark Bikestrong7
15EuanMacleodWiV SunGod6
16JoeWilsonDolan Ellesse5
17DanielBarnesSpectra Wiggle4
18MatthewHoulbergMeudon Pedal Heaven3
20MatthewLordHart Performance1