Reports The B-side

2022 Capenwray Road Race: report and results

Finn Crockett and Mary Wilkinson were the winners of the men's and women's Capenwray Road Races, the first round of the Proper Northern Road Race Series

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

Preview, startlist and route details.


Sunday 27 March saw the traditional early-season British road racing classic at Capernwray. This year there were races for men and women at National B level as the first round of three in the Cold Dark North’s new Proper Northern Road Race Series

The men’s 2022 Capenwray Road Race. Photo: Ellen Isherwood

The riders were greeted by a stunning spring day in North Lancashire for this traditionally difficult race which includes multiple ascents of Sunny Bank as part of an undulating 12 kilometre course through the quiet back lanes around Borwick and Arkholme.

The next round of the Proper Northern Road Race Series will be at Aughton on 15 May and entries are open now.

Men’s race

The men’s race was dominated by Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling with Finn Crockett taking advantage of the work done in an early three-man break which he’d led together with Josh Whitehead of WiV SunGod and Callum Thornley of Wheelbase CabTech Castelli. The trio led the bunch by around a minute for multiple laps.

Thornley was dropped with two laps to go, leaving just Crockett and Whitehead out front as the gap began to narrow. Then, on the final ascent of Sunny Bank, Crockett was able to solo away from Whitehead who was reeled in by Crockett’s teammates Alex Peters and Zeb Kyffin to give Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling a podium sweep and an obvious victory in the team classification too. That is Crockett’s second National B win of the year, following his win at the ERC Gifford Road Race the previous weekend.

Finn Crockett wins the men’s 2022 Capenwray Road Race. Photo: Ellen Isherwood

Whitehead was the leading under-23 rider as he held on for fourth, ahead of fellow 21-year-old Joe Wilson of Dolan Ellesse RT. The leading junior was Bjoern Koerdt in an impressive 15th and Whitehead claimed the KOM and Combativity prizes for his work in the break. WiV SunGod and Dolan Ellesse RT made up the team podium with Tactic Sport UK in fourth.

Men’s race results.

Women’s race

In the afternoon, a very strong women’s field took centre stage and put on a tightly-contented race in the now warm spring sunshine. The front of the race stayed together throughout, with a stacked group of around 15-20 riders working hard to distance the remainder of the field after a few laps. That group was led up the climb of Sunny Bank four times by eventual QOM winner Sammie Stuart of Team LDN – Brother UK and entered the last lap together.

On the final climb of Sunny Bank, it was CAMS-Basso’s Becky Storrie – winner of The Peaks 2 Day the previous weekend – who came around the final bend in the lead having shattered the group behind, but it was Mary Wilkinson of Team Boompods who emerged from her shadow to stretch every sinew in the final metres to win by a couple of bike lengths.

Mary Wilkinson wins the women’s 2022 Capenwray Road Race. Photo: Ellen Isherwood

It was a much-deserved win for Wilkinson, with Storrie valiant in second and Stuart breaking out of the bunch for an impressive third place. Olivia Bentley of Torelli-Cayman-Islands-Scimitar was fourth and Stuart’s teammate Kerry Middleton took a well fought fifth. Corrine Side (Pro-Noctis-Rotor-Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen) was the best-placed under-23 in eighth.

The team winners were Team Boompods with Wilkinson joined by Amy Graham, Louise Hart and Lauren Watson on the podium. Team LDN-Brother UK and Pro-Noctis-Rotor-Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen were in second and third in the team standings.

The leading junior in the women’s race was Freya Whiteside of RFDA and the Combativity award went to Boompod’s Watson for her efforts tracking back into the leading group on a number of laps.

Women’s race results.


Men’s race results

Updated 29 March 2022.

#First nameSurnameTeam
1FinnCrockettRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
2AlexPetersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
3ZebKyffinRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
4JoshWhiteheadWiV SunGod
5JoeWilsonDolan Ellesse Race Team
6LucasRowleyTactic Sport UK Race Team
7MatthewBostockWiV SunGod
8MatthewFoxWheelbase CabTech Castelli
9DamienClaytonWiV SunGod
10JohnRussellTeam 05/03
11JamesHarrisonManx Viking Wheelers CC
12CiaranMcSherryThe Cycling Academy
13CorrinLeemingManx Viking Wheelers CC
14JordanRetallackTeam 05/03
15BjoernKoerdtShibden Cycling Club
16StevenParsonageRichardsons- Trek DAS
17JackCrookDolan Ellesse Race Team
18JoeWilsonCog Set Papyrus Racing Clu
19JacobGilkesBridgnorth Cycling Club
20SamShepherdTeam 05/03
21ConorMcKinnonDolan Ellesse Race Team
22ElijahKwonThe Cycling Academy
23GeorgeRadcliffeIdentity Racing
24ChristopherHumphriesBioracer UK RT
25ThomasStringerMoonglu CC
26DeclanHudsonDolan Ellesse Race Team
27WilliamDykesSpokes Racing Team
28HarryPaveleyIdentity Racing
29SeanTaylorAndrew Allan Architecture
31ChristopherBoothGiant Kendal-Sidas UK
32JosephBowersTactic Sport UK Race Team
33IsaacLawrenceBrother UK – Orientation Marketing
DNFHarryJukesTeam 05/03
DNFJamieFletcherEllan Vannin Cycling Club
DNFBenIddonIdentity Racing
DNFHarryJordanOtley CC
DNFHamishGrahamPrivate Member
DNFCameronJeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
DNFTomTimothyRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
DNFCallumThornleyWheelbase CabTech Castelli
DNFMatthewWarhurstSRCT MUC-OFF
DNFJonathanFowlesTactic Sport UK Race Team
DNFBenFlanaganThe Cycling Academy
DNFAngusJoshiThe Cycling Academy
DNFSamKettlewellTS Racing
DNSMatthewTaylorDolan Ellesse Race Team
DNSRichardBickleyGiant Kendal-Sidas UK
DNSJoeBoothroydGiant Kendal-Sidas UK
DNSNathanSmithHope Factory Racing
DNSJudeTaylorTeam PB Performance

Women’s race results

#First nameSurnameTeam
1MaryWilkinsonTeam Boompods
3SammieStuartTeam LDN – Brother UK
4OliviaBentleyTorelli-Cayman Islands-Scimitar
5KerryMiddletonTeam LDN – Brother UK
6JessieCarridgeBrother UK – Orientation Marketing
7AmyGrahamTeam Boompods
8CorinneSidePro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen
9LucyEllmorePro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen
11ChristinaWiejakSaint Piran WRT
12MonicaGreenwoodMacclesfield Wheelers
13BethHarley-JepsonJadan – Vive le Velo
14HannahBayesSaint Piran WRT
15HeatherMayerTeam LDN – Brother UK
16BethMaciverAlba Development Road Team
17GemmaSargentSaint Piran WRT
18AmyGornallPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen
19SophieEneverAlba Development Road Team
20LaurenWatsonTeam Boompods
22JoTindleyPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen
23LouiseHartTeam Boompods
24HarrietGilsonWigan Wheelers CC
25HarriWilsonTorvelo Racing
26KingaIngramStorey Racing
27KimBaptistaLVIV Cycling Team
28HelenJacksonKendal Cycle Club
29AnnaWeaverTeam Kirkley Cycles
30CharlotteBroughtonAWOL – O’Shea
31LouiseScuphamJadan – Vive le Velo
32EmmaWatsonGrinta Coaching
33LauraCheesmanEvans Cycles RT
34ErinMurphyAlba Development Road Team
38LolaEllisBackstedt Bike Performance JRT
40GraceRudkinInnovation Racing
41KarolinaChudzikiewiczJadan – Vive le Velo
DNFMeganAndersonClifton CC
DNFVictoriaSmithAlba Development Road Team
DNSConnieHayesAWOL – O’Shea
DNSCharlotteGibsonAWOL – Worx Galliard
DNSDaisyBarnesBrother UK – Orientation Marketing
DNSEllenMcDermottTeam Boompods

Featured photo: Ellen Isherwood