Features Routes

British Cycling announces 2022 National Road Championships routes

Route details for this year’s British National Road Championships in Dumfries and Galloway, 23-26 June

British Cycling has revealed the route details for this year’s British National Road Championships in Dumfries and Galloway, which will take place from 23-26 June, bringing the time trial, circuit race and road race championships to Scotland for the first time since 2013.

Having previously hosted many rounds of both the Tour of Britain and Tour Series, Dumfries and Galloway has a proud track record of hosting major cycling events, and with the support of EventScotland, part of VisitScotland’s Events Directorate, the region will now host the national championships for the first time.

In total, ten coveted national champion’s jerseys will be awarded across the three days of racing, with the time trials taking place on the historic Crichton Estate, the circuit races centred on the familiar streets of Kirkcudbright, and the road races starting and finishing in the picturesque Castle Douglas.

Time trials

The time trials kick off the championships on Thursday 23 June, starting and finishing at Crichton Estate in Dumfries. The under-23 women, under-23 men and elite women will set a time over one lap of the route, totalling 22.1km, while the elite men will complete two laps to make 44.2km.

The route is fairly flat with just 141ft of climbing for each loop. It should therefore be a fast course, albeit with an uphill drag to the finish line, passing the historic Caerlaverock Castle and Nature Reserve en route.

Circuit races

The circuit races will take place on Friday 24 June on a flat but technical 1 km route around the historic harbour town of Kirkcudbright.

Both the men’s and women’s races will be contested over one hour plus five laps, with the circuit passing the 16th-century fortress MacLellan’s Castle.

Road races

The road races conclude this year’s championships on Sunday 26 June, starting and finishing in Castle Douglas, which successfully hosted a round of the Tour Series in 2021 and the finish of the first stage of the Tour of Britain in 2016.

Both the men’s and women’s races will be centred on two loops. The rolling longer route is 22.9km in length. Starting out in Castle Douglas, it heads out toward Dalbeattie before taking in Palnackie and then heads back into Castle Douglas along the B736.

The shorter 13.7km route takes in much of the same roads as the longer loop, but instead takes a shortcut back into Castle Doulgas via the B727.

The men’s race will be contested over 201.2km with four laps of the longer route followed by eight of the shorter, including 2,468ft of climbing. The women’s race of 128km is made up of two laps of the longer loop followed by six laps of the shorter route, and 1,626ft of climbing.

Featured image: Joe Cotterill. 2021 National Road Championships – Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix.