Races Reports

Holohan Coaching Road Race: report and results

Conor McGoldrick takes a superb solo win to outclass a top field

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

Following the return of men’s national road racing last month at Chitterne and the Return to Racing for Big Dogs, the Holohan Coaching Road Race marked the third men’s National B event of the year.

As we highlighted in the preview, the field was stacked with top domestic riders but, as with the Return to Racing for Big Dogs, it was a rider from one of the smaller domestic teams who won out.

Conor McGoldrick (Primera-TeamJobs) has been in good form this year – he made a small name for himself by winning the very first post-lockdown road race in April – but this was his first win at the national level and against some top competition. He won in a convincing manner too, with a superb solo ride.

Toby Barnes (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT), Steve Lampier (Saint Piran) and Lucas Towers (Cero – Cycle Division Racing Team) formed a three-man chase and finished in that order as they crossed the line. Towers’ performance was particularly impressive, given he is still just a junior. Behind, Leon Mazzone (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT) won the bunch sprint ahead of Charles Walker from the Spirit Racing Team.

Earlier in the day, Matt Clarke (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli) had won the Regional A version of the race.

Featured photos: Gary Main

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 1900x540.jpg


1Conor McGoldrickPrimera-TeamJobs
2Toby BarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
3Steve LampierSaint Piran
4Lucas TowersCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
5Leon MazzoneCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
6Charles WalkerSpirit Racing Team
7Tom MazzoneSaint Piran
8William TrueloveWales Racing Academy
9Ben GrangerZappi Racing Team
10Cameron JeffersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
11Joshua GiddingsZ Junior Race Team
12Cameron McLarenNopinz Motip Development Team
13Josh WhiteheadTeam PB Performance
14Cameron BiddleVredestein Basso
15Liam James-MorrisWales Racing Academy
16Tom CouzensSpirit Racing Team
17Alexander WelburntrainSharp Club
18Jack Rootkin-GrayTeam Inspired
19Sebastian GarryNopinz Motip Race Team
20Ben StockdaleCotswold Cycles-TREK -RT
21Oliver MaxwellSaint Piran
22Josh HousleyWillebrord Wil Vooruit
23Matthew EllisSaint Piran
24Iwan EvansSaint Piran
25Daniel BarnesSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
26Ed BeecherCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
27Matthew KingTeam PB Performance
28Jack BroughCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
29George BeckVCA du Bourget
30James BentleyTeam PB Performance
31James ChapmanTeam PB Performance
32Charlie GennerZappi Racing Team
33Christopher QuinOnimpex Bioracer RT
34Oliver PeckoverUpShift Nutrition Race Team
35Jenson YoungSaint Piran
36Fergus JonesZeroBC
37Christopher HumphriesOnimpex Bioracer RT
38Thomas LowtherVredestein Basso
39Matt WittsNopinz Motip Race Team
40Jacob TipperRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
41William HardingCycling Sheffield
42Joe EvansSaint Piran
43Farley BarberSpirit Racing Team
44Reece WoodCanyon DHB Sungod
45Ben LloydFibrax Wrexham Roads Club
46Jordan HillASFRA Racing Team
47Damien ClaytonCanyon DHB Sungod
48Alistair ThomasCrimson Orientation Marketing RT
49Andrew TennantCanyon DHB Sungod
50Thomas KirkVredestein Basso
51Eliot WardInflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team
52George WoodCycling Sheffield
DNFJames SatoorCero – Cycle Division Racing Team
DNFDominic SchilsVelo Schils – Interbike RT
DNFCharles AgerVredestein Basso
DNFAlexander ShepherdIlkeston Cycle Club
DNFDaniel ShoobridgeNopinz Motip Race Team
DNFPeter CockerRichardsons-Trek RT
DNFMatthew LewisUrbano Cycling Team
DNFElliot HarrisonCrimson Orientation Marketing RT