2023 Trofeo Terrington Race: report and results

Ben Granger (Mg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM) and Gemma Mitchell (Team Boompods) were the winners at the inaugural Trofeo Terrington, 6 August 2023

In the second biggest road race on UK soil on Sunday, Ben Granger (Mg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM) and Gemma Mitchell (Team Boompods) were the victors at the inaugural Trofeo Terrington.

Featured image: Adam Wright


Men’s race

As the world’s best male road racers rolled out of Edinburgh towards Glasgow for one of the races of the century, around 70 of the domestic peloton’s finest set off in pursuit of more modest glory at the Yomp Bonk Crew’s Trofeo Terrington in Howardian Hills AONB.

Aggressive racing resulted in splits aplenty in the first two hours of racing but no move was given more than a slender advantage, with every split missing one or two of the favourites, who would then duly force the move back. The resulting pace quickly reduced the bunch size, with 20-30 riders shelled from the bunch in the first half of the race.

On the last couple of laps, Dean Watson (Embark Spirit BSS) attacked along with junior rider Ryan Williams (BCC Race Team). The pair were shortly joined by Watson’s teammate Clayton and Matt King of X-Speed United, before Adam Lewis (Saint Piran) and Ben Granger also bridged across (Mg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM).

Image: Adam Wright

The six worked well together, prompting James McKay (Cycling Sheffield), Thomas Armstrong (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli), and Jacob Smith (Unattached) to set off in pursuit, with Granger’s teammate Matt Kingston sitting on for the ride. Armstrong was dropped on the last lap, with McKay forcing the group onto the leaders on the final ascent of Bulmer Bank.

With Granger sensing the chasers closing the gap, he attacked, managing to crest the climb with a short lead over a slightly reformed chasing group. Watson, Williams, and Smith had been dropped on Bulmer, with McKay, King, Lewis and Clayton now leading the case, Kingston still sat on the back.

In the final kilometres the chasers were never more than a few hundred metres away but failed to make inroads into the Cumbrian’s advantage. Kingston cramped up around 3km to go, showing how hard even holding the wheel was over the circuit.

Image: Adam Wright

Granger soloed to a classy win. Behind, King led out the sprint, with McKay jumping on his wheel and going over the top to take second. Lewis pipped Clayton for third as both came around King in the final few metres before the line.

Women’s race

A slim field of 18 riders contested the women’s race, each finisher guaranteed to accumulate national road rankings points.

Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix Robyn Clay (Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee) was one of the early movers, going away with a few others, including two Team Boompods riders. The move was brought back, however, sparking a counterattack by Jayati Hine (Team Boompods).

Image: Adam Wright

Hine carved out a good lead, ahead by over a minute at one stage. She looked impressive and, egged on by her supporters at the side of the road, looked for a while like a good bet for solo glory. It was not to be for Hine, however. Her legs tiring, she was caught through the start/finish line as the riders took the bell.

The splintering bunch had dwindled to around 11 riders by the time they reached the finish line with Gemma Mitchell (Team Boompods) launching early to take victory ahead of her teammate Ellen McDermott. Clay rounded out the podium with third.

Image: Adam Wright


Men’s race

122 Ben GrangerSeniorMg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM60
210 James McKaySeniorCycling Sheffield52
340 Adam LewisSeniorSaint Piran45
416 Damien ClaytonSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS40
564 Matt KingSeniorX-Speed United Continental Team35
618 Dean WatsonSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS31
769 Joseph SmithU23Private Member27
824 Daniel McDermottSeniorMoonglu Race Team23
911 James WordsworthU23Cycling Sheffield20
1012 Josh HousleySeniorDerby CC Webuycycle Huub RT17
1159 Thomas ArmstrongSeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli15
1260 Jacob SmithU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli13
1350 Jacques CoatesU23Team PB Performance11
1440 Oliver HurdleSeniorStolenGoat Race Team9
1545 Alexander SpeirsSeniorTAAP Endura7
166 Ryan WilliamsSeniorBCC Race Team6
1723 Matthew KingstonSeniorMg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM5
187 Huw OwenSeniorClwb Beicio Egni Eryri3
1917 Sam KettlewellU23Embark Spirit BSS2
2013 Tobias BartlettSeniorDoddington Cycling Club1
2151 Liam FlanneryU23Team PB Performance0
2215 Michael ChadwickSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS0
2348 Patrick ClarkSeniorTeam Lifting Gear Products0
2432 Oliver SergeantJuniorPrologue Racing Team0
2521 Charlie GennerU23Halesowen A & CC0
261 Joe ShillabeerU2305/030
2761 Joshua RavnSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo0
2862 Cavan WalkerSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo0
2928 William TaylorSeniorMoonglu Race Team0

Women’s race

115 Gemma MitchellSeniorTeam Boompods60
0214 Ellen McDermottSeniorTeam Boompods0
39 Robyn ClayU23Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee45
418 Elizabeth HermolleSeniorPrivate Member40
510 Alice CollingJuniorShibden Hope Tech Apex35
61 Lucy HarrisSeniorAWOL – O’Shea31
716 Lauren WatsonSeniorTeam Boompods27
812 Rosie SimmonsU23Southampton University Road Club23
911 Isabel MayesJuniorShibden Hope Tech Apex20
105 Marie Louise KertzmanSeniorLAKA Pedal Mafia RT17
113 Melissa DenmanSeniorContiki Velo Bavarian RT15
127 Isabella JohnsonU23LAKA Pedal Mafia RT13
1313 Jayati HineSeniorTeam Boompods11
148 Georgina OakleySeniorPrivate Member9
152 Maisy VasicU23Brother UK-Orientation Marketing7
DNF6 Abi PlowmanSeniorJadan Vive le Velo p/b Glasdon0
DNF4 Rebecca WaterfieldSeniorContiki Velo Bavarian RT0
DNF17 Jihanna Bonilla-AllardSeniorPrivate Member0