2023 Trofeo Terrington: preview and startlist

Startlist, route, contenders and timings for the Trofeo Terrington, Sunday 6 August

The 2023 Trofeo Terrington road races (Nat B) for men and women take place this weekend, 6 August. Here is our preview.

Featured image: Emma Wilcock

What is it?

Serial race organisers the Yomp Bonk Crew host another two National B road races this weekend at the inaugural Trofeo Terrington. The event takes place in North Yorkshire in the Howardian Hills AONB, not far from Ampleforth Abbey, home of the Ryedale Grand Prix.

Spectators are encouraged to gather around the course and are welcomed around the finish area provided cars are parked away from the race circuit and that they do not crowd the finish line.


The race takes in the 17.5km Bulmer circuit north of York, starting and finishing just outside the village of Terrington. The men’s race incorporates 8 laps of the circuit with a total distance of 140km. There are six laps for the women’s race, resulting in a total distance of 105km.

Each circuit involves 274m of climbing. The most testing part of the loop is the Bulmer climb, a short lung-busting climb that averages 8% but has double-digit gradients in the first half. Occurring 11km into the circuit, it is a perfect launchpad for an attack.

The finish line is just outside Terrington on a short rise, which should serve to make a final selection if the race comes down to a sprint.


9.00Men’s race start
12.30Men’s race finish (approx.)
14.30Women’s race start
17.30Women’s race finish (approx.)

Riders to watch

Men’s race

National road race rankings leader James McKay (Cycling Sheffield) is the headline act in the men’s race. Form riders Ben Pease, Daniel McDermott (both Moonglu RT) and Oliver Hurdle (StolenGoat RT) are both hunting their first national road race win of 2023. Saint Piran rider Adam Lewis is a seasoned pro who already has the GA Bennett Road Race s/b Pedal Pushers of Grantham to his name.

Wheelbase CabTech Castelli pair Thomas Armstrong and Jacob Smith should find the hills to their liking. Ben Granger and Matthew Kingston, who ride for UCI Continental team Mg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM, are another duo who should thrive on this terrain. Look out too for former WiV SunGod rider Damien Clayton (Embark Spirit BSS) and Oakenclough road race winner Matthew Warhurst (ROKiT-SRCT).

Women’s race

A very small field of just 18 registered riders means the race could end up very fractured early on. Rapha Lincoln Grand Prix winner Robyn Clay (Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee)is the stand-out riders.

Team Boompods pair Jayati Hine and Ellen McDermott are also podium possibles, while Isabel Mayes from the ever-impressive junior Shibden Hope Tech Apex team is another rider to watch.

The organisers inform us that entries are available on the line.

Provisional startlists

Men’s race

 William AbbottU23Private Member0
 William AllenSeniorRibble rechrg Race Team0
 Thomas ArmstrongSeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli17
 Tobias BartlettSeniorDoddington Cycling Club50
 David BollandSeniorArmy Cycling Union0
 Joe BoothroydSeniorGiant Kendal-Sidas Uk0
 Alexander CarleySeniorPrivate Member0
 Michael ChadwickSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS16
 Patrick ClarkSeniorTeam Lifting Gear Products0
 Damien ClaytonSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS162
 Jacques CoatesU23Team PB Performance117
 Nicholas CooperSeniorCycling Club Isle of Man35
 George DalySeniorSitwell Cycling Club0
 Sean DodsworthSeniorArmy Cycling Union13
 Guy DrabbleU23Ribble rechrg Race Team0
 Tobias EdwardsSeniorTeam Lifting Gear Products0
 Matthew EllmoreJuniorPrologue Racing Team0
 Liam FlanneryU23Team PB Performance0
 Charlie GennerU23Halesowen A & CC0
 Jamie GostickSeniorTeam PB Performance0
 Ben GrangerSeniorMg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM37
 Glen HaleSeniorTrek Sheffield Fox Valley0
 James HartleyU23Cycling Sheffield105
 Jack HartleyU23BCC Race Team56
 Isaac HenleyU23Rule 28 x ATP Performance0
 Joe ShillabeerU2305/0352
 Isaac WrightSeniorProject 5131
 Ryan WilliamsSeniorBCC Race Team0
 Huw OwenSeniorClwb Beicio Egni Eryri7
 James McKaySeniorCycling Sheffield355
 James WordsworthU23Cycling Sheffield30
 Josh HousleySeniorDerby CC Webuycycle Huub RT96
 Sam KettlewellU23Embark Spirit BSS32
 Dean WatsonSeniorEmbark Spirit BSS78
 Ross TurnerSeniorFietsen Tempo40
 Daniel McDermottSeniorMoonglu Race Team199
 Ben MewesSeniorMoonglu Race Team59
 Ben PeaseSeniorMoonglu Race Team237
 Carl StubbsSeniorMoonglu Race Team15
 William TaylorSeniorMoonglu Race Team40
 Oliver SergeantJuniorPrologue Racing Team0
 Joshua HorsfieldU23Ribble rechrg Race Team23
 Max Lutz-AtkinsonU23Ribble rechrg Race Team9
 Hugo Lutz-AtkinsonU23Ribble rechrg Race Team37
 Matthew WarhurstSeniorROKiT-SRCT146
 Jake JacksonSeniorRose Race Team0
 Adam LewisSeniorSaint Piran208
 Oliver HurdleSeniorStolenGoat Race Team236
 Matthew LockSeniorTAAP Endura17
 Alexander SpeirsSeniorTAAP Endura18
 Harvey StrohU23TAAP Endura7
 Rafe WilliamsSeniorTeam Bikestop Tyrekey 3FS18
 Matthew KingstonSeniorMg.K VIS Colors for Peace VPM0
 Matthew MerninU23Muckle Cycle Club0
 Andrew StephensonSeniorOpen Collective0
 Andrew LawrenceU23Selby CC0
 Harry PaveleyU23Team PB Performance20
 George PedenSeniorTeam PB Performance63
 Joe PidcockU23Trinity Racing Team0
 Jacob SmithU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli113
 Joshua RavnSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo49
 Cavan WalkerSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo1
 Mark WalkerSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo0
 Matt KingSeniorX-Speed United Continental Team60
 James O’ConnellSeniorPrivate Member75
 Niko RaineSeniorPrivate Member0
 Joseph SmithU23Private Member137
 Sam WalshamSeniorPrivate Member0
 James ScottJuniorUtmost IOM Junior Team0
 Jacob LockU23Velo Club Beverley0

Women’s race

 Robyn ClayU23Pro-Noctis – Heidi Kjeldsen – 200 Degrees Coffee225
 Alice CollingJuniorShibden Hope Tech Apex5
 Melissa DenmanSeniorContiki Velo Bavarian RT20
 Lucy HarrisSeniorAWOL – O’Shea58
 Jayati HineSeniorTeam Boompods113
 Isabella JohnsonU23LAKA Pedal Mafia RT24
 Marie Louise KertzmanSeniorLAKA Pedal Mafia RT13
 Isabel MayesJuniorShibden Hope Tech Apex62
 Ellen McDermottSeniorTeam Boompods115
 Gemma MitchellSeniorTeam Boompods16
 Georgina OakleySeniorPrivate Member49
 Abi PlowmanSeniorJadan Vive le Velo p/b Glasdon53
 Rosie SimmonsU23Southampton University Road Club46
 Maisy VasicU23Brother UK-Orientation Marketing0
 Lauren WatsonSeniorTeam Boompods0
 Rebecca WaterfieldSeniorContiki Velo Bavarian RT0
 Jihanna Bonilla-AllardSeniorPrivate Member0
 Elizabeth HermolleSeniorPrivate Member0