Reports The B-side

2022 Jock Wadley Memorial road race: report and results

Yanto Barker (Le Col) rolls back the years to win the 38th edition of the Jock Wadley Memorial road race

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

42-year-old Yanto Barker (Le Col) rolled back the years to win the 38th edition of the Jock Wadley Memorial road race on Sunday (13 March), the longest national road race of the year so far. The win capped a dominant performance from Barker and his teammate Alex Richardson, who crossed the line together, well over a minute ahead of their nearest challengers.

73 riders lined up for the start from the Paxman Academy, with the racing beginning as they reached the village of Layer de la Haye for 12 laps of the Abberton Reservoir circuit. The weather was overcast with a strong wind from the south making for a tough race.

The early break, led by Yanto Barker (Le Col). Photo: HPSource Media / The British Continental

During the second lap, five riders had formed a breakaway, which included eventual winner Barker, together with Sam Asker (Richardsons-Trek DAS), Jordan Peacock (Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor), Matthew Clements (Kuwait Pro CT) and Matthew Lord (Hart Performance Coaching). Ole Bang-Andreasen (Le Col) later bridged across to make it a group of six.

Behind, the wind and intermittent cold rain showers was having an effect; as the laps passed the race splintered, much more so than in recent editions of the race.  A crash in the peloton on the reservoir road after about 90 minutes of racing, involving about 20-30 riders, also served to whittle things down.

The counter-attack, with Jack Freeman (left) and Tom Portsmouth (right). Photo: HPSource Media / The British Continental

With around five laps to go, Alex Richardson was part of a counter-attack, accompanied by his Le Col teammate Richard Todd, our former journal contributors James Jenkins (Richardsons-Trek DAS) and Tom Portsmouth (Mini Discar Cycling Team), James Ashcroft (Nopinz Motip RT) and Jack Freeman (Meuden Pedal Heaven Le Col RT).

Once the gap between the leading group and the counter-attack was down to around 15-20 seconds, Richardson attacked, taking Portsmouth with him. they made contact with the leaders.

Barker and Richardson crossed the line together. Photo: HPSource Media / The British Continental

By the 10th lap, Barker and Richardson had distanced the other leaders, sharing the pace to build up a lead of over a minute by the time they reached the finished. Portsmouth, meanwhile, led home a group of five chasers to finish third.

Portsmouth wins the sprint for third. Photo: HPSource Media / The British Continental

Farley Barber (Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor) remains at the top of The British Continental national road race rankings after the weekend’s races.


#First nameSurnameTeam/club
1YantoBarkerLe Col
2AlexandraRichardsonLe Col
3TomPortsmouthMini Discar Cycling Team
4OleBang-AndreasenLe Col
5SamuelAskerRichardsons Trek DAS
6JordonPeacockSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor
7MatthewLordHart Performance Coaching
8JamesJenkinsRichardsons Trek DAS
9JackFreemanMeuden Pedal Heaven Le Col RT
10MatthewClementsKuwait Pro CT
11CharlesAgerStolen Goat Race Team
12ClayDaviesSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor
13ChrisMcNamaraNunn-Sigmasports London RT
14MichaelWeaversProject 51
16DanielReesAPI-Metrow/Bodyby JR
17DominicSchilsVelo Schils-Interbike 
18ZebKyffinRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling
19FrazierCarrSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor
20OliverMaxwellSRCT Muc-Off
21JoeStauntonWhitelink/White Mountain CRT 
23MatthewHoulbergMeuden Pedal Heaven Le Col RT
24MarkRichardsDAP CC
25TimAllenTeam LDN-Brother UK
26CallumRileyRichardsons Trek DAS
27LeightonOxley-CrispVelo Schils-Interbike 
28HarleyMatthewsDAP CC
29MatthewCarterVelo Schils-Interbike 
31JosephSmithTofauti Everyone Active
32JamesSomerfieldTrash Mile
33IanVaggProject 51
34ThomasQuaidForan CCC
35OliverHurdleStolen Goat Race Team  
37RobynLlewelynTrash Mile
38TomYiangouAthlon CC