Previews Races The B-side

London Dynamo Summer Road Race: race preview

Mini-preview and provisional startlist for the 2021 London Dynamo Summer Road Race, 27 June

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing

This is the fourth of our previews of the weekend’s races, focusing on the London Dynamo Summer Road Race. Read our Crimson Performance Road Race preview here, our Severn Bridge Road Race preview here, and our Women’s CiCLE Classic preview here.

Featured photo: James Little

What is it?

National B road race run by London Dynamo, a large cycling club based in south west London and Surrey. The Summer Road Race is the flagship race of the many events they organise throughout the year.

The race takes place in West Sussex, just west of Horsham, taking in the picturesque villages of Plaistow, Kirdford, and Ifold. These are roads yours truly knows well, having grown up nearby.

Tom Hargreaves (Nuun-SigmaSport-London) won the last edition of the race in 2019. Some youngster called Ben Tulett was 4th that day.

A women’s Regional A road race takes place on the same day as part of the same event.

The route

The route takes in 8 laps of the 15.4 km Kirdford Circuit, with a total race distance of 123.7 km. The race rolls out from the HQ in Loxwood, heading south until riders join the circuit just east of Ifold. The course then runs anti-clockwise around the circuit.

The course is pretty flat, with just over 100 m of elevation per lap. It will therefore be tough for riders to get away, meaning this could be a one for the sprinters. That said, the finish is on a small climb a few hundred metres beyond Ifold, which might also act as launchpad for riders to get away on each lap.

Riders to watch

This race may have less caché than the other two men’s National B road races taking place this weekend (the prestigious Severn Bridge RR and the Crimson Performance RR), but it still boasts an eyecatching field.

ProTeam rider Alex Richardson (Alpecin-Fenix) is now set to take part, having withdrawn his entry for the Severn Bridge Road Race. Unfortunately, Tom Fitzpatrick (EuroCyclingTrips – CMI Pro Cycling) has had to withdraw from the race through injury.

Local team Nuun-Sigma Sports-London RT field a strong line-up, including new signing Edmund Bradbury, back from retirement. This will be the former JLT Condor rider’s first road race since the Tour of Almaty in 2019.

Our journal contributor James Jenkins also lines up. We’ve rated James highly now well for a while, and he’s capable of winning a race like this on his day. He’s joined by Richardsons-Trek teammates Aaron Freeman and William Scott. The men in orange have one of the strongest line-ups alongside Bradbury’s Nuun-Sigma Sports-London team.

Elsewhere on the startlist, fast-finishing Saint Piran’s Stephen Bradbury rides and will be a threat. Under-23 rider Samuel Painter (TBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling) will be one to keep an eye on, having finished second at the Chitterne Road Race. And it will be interesting to see how crit specialist Alec Briggs (Tekkerz CC) gets on, making what will be a rare road race appearance.


Date: Sunday, 27 June 2021

Start 9:30

Provisional startlist

#NameTeam / Club
1Alexandar RichardsonAlpecin-Fenix
2Andrew TaylorDAP Cycling Club
3Timothy LynchLondon Dynamo
4Chris McNamaraNuun-Sigma   Sports-London RT
5Barnabas PurbrookNuun-Sigma Sports-London RT
6Ken BuckleyNuun-Sigma   Sports-London RT
7Edmund BradburyNuun-Sigma Sports-London RT
8James JenkinsRichardsons-Trek RT
9William ScottRichardsons-Trek RT
10Stephen BradburySaint Piran
11Alec BriggsTEKKERZ CC
14Dominic SchilsVelo Schils – Interbike RT
21Tobias DahlhausForan CCC
22Joe HillUpShift Nutrition Race Team
31Kevin NelsonCrawley Wheelers Race Team
33Daniel ShoobridgeNopinz Motip Race Team
34Ian VaggProject 51
35Frank KilsbyTAAP Cervelo
36Tom ElwoodTeam LDN – Brother UK
37Neil PhillipsTEKKERZ CC
38Jamie FrancisUpShift Nutrition Race Team
41Will Auty4T+ Cyclopark
43Jordan CalcuttDulwich Paragon CC
44Thomas QuaidForan CCC
45George NemilostivijsGFTL
47James KnightonLondon Dynamo
48Warren JesseMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT
49James BonhamPaceline RT
50Paul BurtonPaceline RT
51Mark GowerPrecise Performance RT
52Paul BarnardPrecise Performance RT
53Peter MerrittTBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling
54Philip GlowinskiVC Londres
55Noah PhillipsVC Londres
56Joshua DentonVC Meudon
57Harry GreenWheelsuckers
60Travis BramleyNopinz Motip Race Team
61Lawrence CoylePrecise Performance RT
62Cameron PreecePrecise  Performance RT
63Isaac WrightProject 51
64Aaron FreemanRichardsons-Trek RT
65Oliver HurdleSouthampton University Road Club
66James NicholsonTAAP Cervelo
67Samuel PainterTBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling
68Kishan BakraniaTBW23 Stuart Hall Cycling
69Haben GebrehiwetTottenham CC
80Stephen MaxwellDulwich Paragon CC
81Benje HastonLondon Dynamo
82Ben ChapmanLondon Dynamo
83Joseph MurrayLondon Dynamo
84Lee DaviesLondon Dynamo
85Martyn TownsendLondon Dynamo
86Kierhan BrownPaceline RT
87Simon CarterPaceline RT
88Peter HargreavesVC Londres
90James BrownG!RO Cycles
91Joseph MartinCrawley Wheelers Race Team
92Alex RaynardLifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion
93Irfan ZamanPanagua CC