Explainers Features Races

2021 Junior National Road Series: an explainer

A guide to the junior men's and women's road series and national championships

Updated following the cancellations of the Hatherleigh Junior Road Race (4 April), the Isle of Man Youth and Junior Tour (30 April – 2 May, the Loughborough race (8 May) and the Cadence Junior Road Race (16 May). The Fensham Howes – MAS Design Junior Tour of Yorkshire was added on 7 May.

The British Cycling Junior Road Series is the premier road racing series in the UK for junior riders. This explainer tells you what it is and how it will work in 2021.

What is it?

The series comprises a set of one-day and stage races for both junior men and women. As explained below, points are awarded to the top finishers in each race, with the overall series winners being the riders with the most points. The series helps to highlight future prospects; many of the riders at the top of the standings tables have gone on to forge successful careers as bike racers (see ‘past winners’, below). 

In 2019, Leo Hayter (VC Londres, now Development Team Sunweb) won the men’s nine-race series in 2019, whilst Abi Smith (Campinense ‐ Velo Performance, now GB Cycling Team Senior Academy) won the three-race women’s equivalent. 

What are the races?

As the last sentence highlights, there has been a significant disparity in the number of races for men and women. The deficit is reduced though in 2021, with the welcome addition of the very first Junior Women’s Tour of Wales (originally due to debut in 2020), a women’s version of the Hatherleigh Junior Road Race and a new race in Loughborough.

2019 Junior Tour of Wales Photo: David Partridge

Men’s junior series

The junior men’s series boasts more rounds and race days than the senior men’s National Road Series. In total, nine rounds are planned races (the same as in 2020), including four stage races. The Monmouthshire Junior Grand Prix doesn’t continue but a new race, in Loughborough, keeps the number of rounds at nine. The jewel in the crown is undoubtedly the Junior Tour of Wales, which has previously acted as grand finale to the series and has an illustrious list of past winners. This time around though, a rescheduled Spokes Junior Road Race will end a six-month domestic road season for junior men.

4 Apr1Hatherleigh Junior Road RaceDevon
30 Apr – 2 May2Isle of Man Youth & Junior TourIsle of Man
8 May3LoughboroughLoughborough
16 May4Cadence Junior Road RacePowys
12-13 Jun1Fensham Howes – MAS Design Junior Men’s Tour of YorkshireYorkshire
27 Jun2Junior CiCLE ClassicLeicestershire
18 Jul3Bath RC Junior RRSomerset
13-15 Aug4Fenwick’s Junior Tour of the MendipsSomerset
27-30 Aug5Junior Tour of WalesBlaenau Gwent
11-12 Sep6Spokes Junior Road Race Fife

Women’s junior series

The women’s series expands the five rounds in 2021 (an increase on the four planned for 2020). of 3 stage races and a one-day race this year. The addition of the Junior Women’s Tour of Wales is an exciting development, which will hopefully encourage more race organisers to follow suit.

4 Apr1Hatherleigh Junior Road RaceDevon
8 May3LoughboroughLoughborough
12 Jun1Fensham Howes – MAS Design Junior Women’s Tour of YorkshireYorkshire
13-15 Aug2Fenwick’s Junior Tour of the Mendips Somerset
28-30 Aug3Junior Women’s Tour of WalesBlaenau Gwent
tbc?Witham Hall Road RaceLincolnshire

Junior National Road Championships

The Junior National Road Championships feature a road race and time trial. They are not part of the Junior Road Series as such, but nonetheless, carry the prestige of crowning the national junior champions in both disciplines. 

This will be the first time that a time trial championships will take place alongside the road race, with the time trial taking place on the Saturday ahead of the road race the following day.

Chitterne in Wiltshire will host the championships in 2021.

10 JulTime trialChitterne, Wiltshire
11 JulRoad raceChitterne, Wiltshire
2019 Junior Road Series winner Abi Smith at the 2019 Women’s CiCLE Classic – Leicestershire, England. Photo: James York/SWPix.com


For both the men’s and women’s series, there is an overall rider classification. Points will be awarded for:

  • The first 20 places in each single day road race and overall classifications in stage races: 30, 28, 26, 24, 22, 20, 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
  • The first 10 places in individual stages in stage races: 12, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The overall winner of the series will be the rider who gains the highest total number of points across the series, with all rounds to count.

Past winners

The men’s series has been running since 2006 and past winners include Simon Yates, Pete Kennaugh, Matt Gibson, Alex Peters and Erick Rowsell. The women’s series has much less history, with Abi Smith (2019) and April Tacey (2018) the two series winners to date. 


2019Leo HayterVC Londres
2018Mason HollymanZappi Racing Team
2017Oscar MingayGiant Cycling Club – Halo Films
2016Charlie MeredithGiant Cycling Club – Halo Films
2015Harry HardcastleSpeedflex Race Team
2014Matthew GibsonVelocity WD-40
2013Jake KellyManx Viking Wheelers CC
2012Alex PetersMosquito Bikes
2011Alistair SlaterHargroves Cycles-Trant-Next-Specialised-GSI
2010Simon YatesMaxgear RT
2009Joe PerrettGlendene CC/Bike Trax Junior Team
2008Erick RowsellTeam Corridori
2007Peter KennaughPinarello RT
2006Andrew GriffithsGlendene CC / Bike Trax


2019Abi SmithCampinense ‐ Velo Performance
2018April TaceyTeam22

Read more

The British Cycling pages on the Junior Road Series, for men and women, can be found here.

The full set of regulations for the junior men’s and women’s road series can be found here

Featured photo: David Partridge / 2019 Junior Tour of Wales. Thomas Gloag (VC Londres) wins stage 2.