Explainers Features Races

2020 British Cycling Junior Road Series: an explainer

A guide to the men's and women's junior road series

The British Cycling Junior Road Series is the premier road racing series in the UK for junior riders. This explainer tells you what it is and how it works.

What is it?

The series comprises a set of one-day and stage races for both junior men and women. As explained below, points are awarded to the top finishers in each race, with the overall series winners being the riders with the most points. The series helps to highlight future prospects; many of the riders at the top of the standings tables have gone on to forge successful careers as bike racers (see ‘Past winners’, below).

Last season, Leo Hayter (VC Londres, now Development Team Sunweb) won the men’s nine-race series in 2019, whilst Abi Smith (Campinense ‐ Velo Performance) won the three-race women’s equivalent.

What are the races?

As the last sentence highlights, there is a significant disparity in the number of races for men and women. This continues in 2020, albeit with the welcome addition of the very first Junior Women’s Tour of Wales.

2019 Junior Tour of Wales Photo: David Partridge

Men’s junior series

The junior men’s series boasts more races, race days and stages than the senior men’s National Road Series. Whilst the men’s National Road Series is rumoured to include 7 one-day races in 2020, as well as the 2-day Tour of the Reservoir, the junior men’s series is blessed with 9 races, including 4 stage races. The jewel in the crown is undoubtedly the Junior Tour of Wales, which acts as the grand finale to the series and has an illustrious list of past winners.

22 Mar1Hatherleigh Junior Road RaceDevon
17-19 Apr2Junior Tour of the MendipSomerset
17 May3Cadence Junior Road RacePowys
22-24 May4Isle of Man Youth & Junior TourIsle of Man
20-21 Jun5Spokes Junior Road RaceFife
28 Jun6Monmouthshire Junior Grand PrixMonmouthshire
5 Jul7Junior CiCLE ClassicLeicestershire
26 Jul8Bath RC Junior RRSomerset
28-31 Aug9Junior Tour of WalesBlaenau Gwent

Women’s junior series

The women’s series is comprised of 3 stage races and a one-day race this year. The addition of the Junior Women’s Tour of Wales is an exciting development, which will hopefully encourage more race organisers to follow suit.

4-5 Apr1Witham Hall 2-DayLincolnshire
17-19 Apr2Junior Women’s Tour of the MendipSomerset
2 Aug3Chitterne Road RaceWiltshire
29-31 Aug4Junior Women’s Tour of WalesBlaenau Gwent

Junior National Road Championships

The Junior National Road Championships feature a road race and time trial. They are not part of the Junior Road Series as such, but nonetheless carry the prestige crowning the national junior champions in both disciplines.

18 JulTime trialNorth West (exact venue TBC)
19 JulRoad raceNorth West (exact venue TBC)


2019 Junior Tour of Wales. Stage 4 – Pembrey Country Park – Nantgaredig 99.7km / 62 miles Photo: David Partridge

For both the men’s and women’s series, there is an overall rider classification. Points will be awarded for:

  • The first 20 places in each single day road race and overall classifications in stage races: 30, 28, 26, 24, 22, 20, 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
  • The first 10 places in individual stages in stage races: 12, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The overall winner of the series will be the rider who gains the highest total number of points across the series, with all rounds to count.

Past winners

The men’s series has been running since 2006 and past winners include Simon Yates, Pete Kennaugh, Matt Gibson, Alex Peters and Erick Rowsell. The women’s series has much less history, with Abi Smith (2019) April Tracey (2018) the two series winners to date.


2019Leo HayterVC Londres
2018Mason HollymanZappi Racing Team
2017Oscar MingayGiant Cycling Club – Halo Films
2016Charlie MeredithGiant Cycling Club – Halo Films
2015Harry HardcastleSpeedflex Race Team
2014Matthew GibsonVelocity WD-40
2013Jake KellyManx Viking Wheelers CC
2012Alex PetersMosquito Bikes
2011Alistair SlaterHargroves Cycles-Trant-Next-Specialised-GSI
2010Simon YatesMaxgear RT
2009Joe PerrettGlendene CC/Bike Trax Junior Team
2008Erick RowsellTeam Corridori
2007Peter KennaughPinarello RT
2006Andrew GriffithsGlendene CC / Bike Trax


2019Abi SmithCampinense ‐ Velo Performance
2018April TaceyTeam22

Read more

The British Cycling pages on the Junior Road Series, for men and women, can be found here.

The full set of regulations for the junior men’s series can be found here. The junior women’s series regulations are here.

Featured photo: David Partridge / 2019 Junior Tour of Wales