Explainers Features

HSBC UK | National Circuit Series – Men

A brief explainer

The men’s HSBC UK | National Circuit Series kicks off at the Otley Grand Prix on 3 July 2019. This brief explainer tells you what it is and how it works.

What is it?

A series of town centre crits held every summer, organised by British Cycling. The women’s domestic racing calendar also includes a circuit series, which kicked off last month with the Bristol Grand Prix.

For the men, the final overall individual standings count towards Tour of Britain qualification for the British Continental teams.

What are the races?

The Series is made up of 6 rounds in 2019.

3 Jul1Otley Grand Prix 
5 Jul2Wales Open Criterium
10 Jul3Newcastle Crit
16 Jul4Colne Grand Prix
19 Jul5Barnsley Town Centre Races
24 Jul6Sheffield Grand Prix


Points are awarded to riders finishing in the first 20 places of each race:

30, 28, 26, 24, 22, 20, 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The overall winner of the Series is the rider who gains the highest total number of points across the Series, with all rounds to count.

In the event of a points tie, the individual winner will be decided based on countback of the number of first places achieved then the number of second places achieved and so on.

Read more

The British Cycling pages on the National Circuit Series, for men and women, can be found here

Featured photo: Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com. 04/07/2018, HSBC UK National Circuit Series – Otley Grand Prix – Otley, Yorkshire, England.