2023 Drummond Trophy: preview and startlist

Startlist, route, contenders and timings for the Drummond Trophy on Sunday 8 October

The rearranged Drummond Trophy (Nat B) takes place this weekend (Sunday 8 October), the final national road race in Britain this season.

Featured image: Glenmarnock Wheelers

What is it?

Organised by Glenmarnock Wheelers, the Drummond Trophy is one of Scotland’s major annual road races, and has been running for well over 50 years. The race forms the final round of the Scottish Alba Road Series.

The race has a fabled list of past winners. We couldn’t find a definitive list of victors over the years, but our search of past race results did reveal that the late, great Richard Moore won the race in 1999. Pete Williams won twice, in 2009 and 2012, Dave Clark was the 2014 winner, Steve Lampier triumphed in 2017, while Aussie Michael Storer, a WorldTour pro, won the race in 2018. Tim Shoreman (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli) was the 2022 champion.

This year’s race was originally scheduled to run in June but was cancelled after a rider crashed on the second lap of the circuit.


The race takes in seven laps of the Drumclog Circuit. The circuit starts and finishes by Strathaven (pronounced Stray-vin) in South Lanarkshire and takes in a loop to the southwest of the town.

With 212m of elevation over 20.7km, the circuit is a typically rolling affair, the sharpest section of climbing appearing 11km into the circuit with the Dungavel climb, which reaches double digit gradients in places. The total race length is 136km.


The race begins at 10.00, rolling out from Strathaven Leisure Centre.

Riders to watch

Finn Crockett (Saint Piran) is the headline name. Last year’s Rutland-Melton International CiCLE Classic winner has proven himself time and again this season, and the recent Beaumont Trophy winner will be the favourite to end his road season on a high.

National Road Series Round 4 – 2023 Beaumont Trophy – Stamfordham, Northumberland, England – Finn Crockett of Saint Piran takes the victory. Image: Craig Zadoroznyj/

Last year’s victor Tim Shoreman (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli) has been one of the standout riders in the domestic peloton this year, winning the Fort Colne Grand Prix, the Scottish Road Race Championships and bagging bronze in the National Circuit Race Championships. A fast finisher, he is a serious rival to Crockett.

Moonglu RT has options. Daniel McDermott has been one of the most consistent performers of the domestic season, featuring in the top 10 of National Bs on numerous occasions. 12th at the Beaumont Trophy was a highlight. His teammate Ben Pease has also had an excellent season, and narrowly missed out on the win on Round 2 of the Alba Series at the Hugh Dornan Memorial.

Alba Series leader Craig Paterson (Spokes Racing) lines up. The Straiton Struggle winner was 4th at the Hugh Dornan Memorial (Round 2), and 9th in the Galloway Hillbillies Road Race (Round 3) and will be motivated to end the Series on a high.

Provisional startlist

1 Matthew AnsellSeniorVeloclub Edinburgh0
2 Alasdair BaillieJuniorSpokes Racing Team13
3 John BardsleyJuniorInnovation Racing9
4 Adam BentU23Wolf Cycles0
5 Greig BrownSeniorVanelli-Project Go41
6 Finn CrockettSeniorSaint Piran255
7 Conal DavidsonU23Spokes Racing Team0
8 Oliver DawsonSeniorWolf Cycles0
9 Sean DelaneySeniorVelocita Coaching Race Team0
10 David DugganSeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli0
11 Colin DyerSeniorVanelli-Project Go0
12 Samuel EdgarJuniorRibble rechrg Race Team0
13 Archie EllenU23The Cycling Academy5
14 Roddy FawbertSeniorVanelli-Project Go0
15 Alexander FosterJuniorInnovation Racing4
16 Keir GaffneyU23Spokes Racing Team0
17 Corin HallidaySeniorTorvelo Racing0
18 Daniel HallidaySeniorPrivate Member0
19 Ben HarrisonSeniorSpectrum Racing0
20 Benjamin HelleboSeniorWheelsuckers73
21 Graham HollingerSeniorTorvelo Racing0
22 Joe HowcroftU23Otley CC18
23 Deetray JarrettJuniortrainSharp Development Team6
24 Richard JonesSeniorHUUB WattShop0
26 Marcin KirszSeniorVeloclub Edinburgh0
27 Max KrasinskiU23Cycling Sheffield13
28 Kris LindsaySeniorVeloclub Edinburgh0
29 Jack LucasU23A.Fawcett Racing3
31 Hugo Lutz-AtkinsonU23Ribble rechrg Race Team37
32 Ross MacMillanSeniorStudio Velo0
33 Alasdair McAlpineSeniorGlasgow United CC15
34 Daniel McDermottSeniorMoonglu Race Team258
35 Conor McKinnonU23Dolan Ellesse Race Team51
36 Alastair McNicolSeniordooleys cycles1
37 Ciaran McSherryU23The Cycling Academy52
38 Calum McVieSeniorTorvelo Racing9
39 Alistair MerrySeniorDundee Thistle RC0
40 James MerrySeniorVanelli-Project Go5
41 Ben MewesSeniorMoonglu Race Team59
42 Jack MooreSeniorGala Cycling Club0
43 Louis MooreSeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli71
44 Edward MossSeniorGiant Kendal-Sidas Uk0
45 Cameron MuirSeniorWallacehill CC108
47 Craig PatersonU23Spokes Racing Team160
48 Ben PeaseSeniorMoonglu Race Team242
49 Fergus RobinsonU23Ribble rechrg Race Team12
50 Lee RosieU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli95
52 Tim ShoremanSeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli256
53 Murray SouterSeniorTorvelo Racing52
54 Sean TaylorSeniorTeam Andrew Allan Architecture0
55 William TaylorSeniorMoonglu Race Team40
56 Liam WhiteSeniorTorvelo Racing3
57 Corey WhitefordJuniorFlanders Color Defever Team0
58 Rafe WilliamsSeniorTeam Bikestop Tyrekey 3FS18
59 Archie WrightU2305/030