2023 Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix: report and results

Tim Shoreman out-sprinted the competition to win Round Six of the National Circuit Series in Colne

Tim Shoreman out-sprinted the competition to take his first National Circuit Series victory of the season for Wheelbase CabTech Castelli at the Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix.

Featured photo: Alex Whitehead/ – Cycling – British Cycling National Circuit Series 2023 – Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix 2023 – Tim Shoreman of Wheelbase CabTech Castelli wins


The fast and sweeping course at Colne always provides fast & action-packed racing and the penultimate round of the 2023 National Circuit Series proved no different as the crowds in Lancashire were treated to a thrilling edition of the race.

With the circuit not being the most technical on the calendar, the riders who would bring the action to them were the ones who had the most power in the legs, and teams who were best able to manage the race in their favour.

Picture by Alex Whitehead/ – 25/07/2023 – Cycling – British Cycling National Circuit Series 2023 – Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix 2023 – The Bunch

Geared up for just such a fight was Wheelbase CabTech Castelli. Matt Fox was an early attacker, and luminous yellow jerseys massed at the front of the pack behind as they looked to slow down any attempts to close down Fox’s early break.

But being so early in the race, there was no chance that even such an organised move was going to go the distance and with teams including ROKiT-SRCT making their numbers known at the front, Fox was reeled back into the bunch.

No moves sticking, the pace remained high but relatively neutralised at the halfway mark as riders spied the best opportunities to counter-punch and burst off the front.

That’s exactly what Dan Barnes (Team Spectra Cannondale) did. Powering clear off the front, he was alone for a few laps but then a five-strong chase group bridged across and formed a well-oiled machine of six at the front.

Picture by Alex Whitehead/ – 25/07/2023 – Cycling – British Cycling National Circuit Series 2023 – Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix 2023 – Daniel Barnes of Team Spectra Cannondale

Featuring Wheelbase CabTech Castelli pair Tim Shoreman and Tom Armstrong, Leon Mazzone (Saint Piran), David Hird (ROKiT-SRCT), and Will Harding (Wales Racing Academy), the group worked seamlessly together to shut out the groups behind and confirm that the winner would come from one of these half-dozen.

On the final sprint to the line, Shoreman had the power in the legs to leave his rivals squabbling for the final spots in the podium – taking the chequered flag with a bike length on his rivals.

Mazzone carried on Saint Piran’s strong form with second, as he edged out early breakaway rider Barnes on the line. Hird took fourth, with Armstrong fifth and Harding rounding out the leading sextet.

In the Series standings, Ben Chilton (Ribble Collective) retains the leaders jersey heading into Friday’s final round in Newark with his eighth place finish in Colne but he has just nine points in hand over Fox, who was seventh. Victory keeps Wheelbase CabTech Castelli at the top of the team standings.

Picture by Alex Whitehead/ – 25/07/2023 – Cycling – British Cycling National Circuit Series 2023 – Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix 2023 – Tim Shoreman of Wheelbase CabTech Castelli wins


1Tim ShoremanWheelbase CabTech Castelli1:00:40
2Leon MazzoneSaint Piranst
3Daniel BarnesTeam Spectra Cannondalest
4David HirdROKiT – SRCTst
5Thomas ArmstrongWheelbase CabTech Castellist
6William HardingWales Racing Academyst
7Matthew FoxWheelbase CabTech Castelli+18
8Ben ChiltonRibble Collectivest
9Kieran RileyTeam PB Performancest
10Dexter Leeming-SykesWold Top The Edge Pactimost
11Olivier ManghamTEKKERZ CCst
12Callum LabordeWheelbase CabTech Castellist
13Scott ReddingROKiT – SRCTst
14Cameron McLarenKalas Motip Race Teamst
15Tom MazzoneSaint Piranst
16Chris SherriffsShibden Cycling Clubst
17Jack LucasA.Fawcett Racingst
18Euan CameronA.Fawcett Racingst
19Cai DaviesKalas Motip Race Teamst
20Josh PriceROKiT – SRCTst
21Harry GreenKalas Motip Race Teamst
22Joseph BeckinsaleROKiT – SRCTst
23Hugo Lutz AtkinsonRibble rechrg Race Teamst
24James WordsworthCycling Sheffieldst
25Jack JeeLVC Racingst
26Alexander FosterInnovation Racingst
27David LinesWheelbase CabTech Castellist
28Ben BrightWales Racing Academyst
29Rhys HidrioCaesarean CC Jerseyst
30Matthew WarhurstROKiT – SRCTst
31Joshua JonesALL IN Racingst
32Tom CullenOtley CCst
33Sam KettlewellEmbark Spirit BSSst
34Harvey StrohTAAP Endurast
35Jonny BrittonPrologue Racing Teamst
36Ben PeaseMoonglu Race Teamst
37Matthew EllisROKiT – SRCTst
38Nicholas CooperNordic Sports Academy S.
39Aaron KingWheelbase CabTech Castelli+42
40David RoperKalas Motip Race Team+4 Laps
41Joshua HorsfieldRibble rechrg Race Team+6 Laps
Nathan HardyTeam PB PerformanceDNF
Max SillifantTeam PB PerformanceDNF
George FoxA.Fawcett RacingDNF
Matt WebstertrainSharp EliteDNF
Isaac Lawrence0503DNF
Vaughn PretoriusKalas Motip Race TeamDNS
Tom WilliamsROKiT – SRCTDNS
Jenson YoungROKiT – SRCTDNS
Rhys BrittonSaint PiranDNS
William RobertsSaint PiranDNS
Liam FlanneryTeam PB PerformanceDNS
Huw Buck JonesWales Racing AcademyDNS
Spencer DaviesWales Racing AcademyDNS
Griff LewisWales Racing AcademyDNS
Fred MeredithWales Racing AcademyDNS
Ed MorganWales Racing AcademyDNS
Rory Websterdooleys cyclesDNS
John BardsleyInnovation RacingDNS
Oliver DawsonMAS Design – Fensham HowesDNS
Daniel McDermottMoonglu Race TeamDNS
Travis BramleyTeam Spectra CannondaleDNS
Ollie PeckovertrainSharp EliteDNS
Harrison Hunter0503DNS
Joseph SmithDNS

National Circuit Series standings

Men’s Individual

1Ben ChiltonRibble Collective231
2Matthew FoxWheelbase CabTech Castelli222
3David HirdROKiT – SRCT177
4Callum LabordeWheelbase CabTech Castelli170
5Tim ShoremanWheelbase CabTech Castelli158
6Leon MazzoneSaint Piran156
7Cai DaviesKalas Motip Race Team150
8Alec BriggsTEKKERZ CC143
9Daniel BarnesTeam Spectra Cannondale140
10Jim BrownCross Team Legendre132
11George KimberEmbark Spirit BSS115
12Josh PriceROKiT – SRCT107
13Kieran RileyTeam PB Performance103
14William HardingWales Racing Academy97
15Cameron McLarenKalas Motip Race Team94
16Thomas ArmstrongWheelbase CabTech Castelli93
17Tom CouzensRibble Collective89
18Harry BirchillSaint Piran88
19William TrueloveROKiT – SRCT74
20Ed MorganWales Racing Academy73

Men’s Teams

PosTeam NamePoints
1Wheelbase CabTech Castelli577
2ROKiT – SRCT446
3Saint Piran397
4Kalas Motip Race Team290
5Wales Racing Academy261
6Team PB Performance194
8Cycling Sheffield127
9trainSharp Elite113
10Trinity Racing78
11Richardsons Trek DAS64
12Embark Spirit BSS57
13A.Fawcett Racing47
14Team Spectra Cannondale34
15Moonglu Race Team18
16Ribble rechrg Race Team5