JToW U23 Men’s GP: report and results

George Wood won the JToW U23 Men's GP, 9 July 2023

George Wood (Cycling Sheffield) took his first National B road race win of the season at the JToW U23 Men’s GP, round 3 of the Under-23 Men’s Road Series.

Featured image: Emma Wilcock


Over 115km of a lump course between Brecon and Hay-on-Wye, a field of 55 eager under-23s set off in search of a win. The racing was fast from the gun, with a strong headwind on the back half of the circuit, together with a sharp climb on each lap, adding to the challenge.

Image: Emma Wilcock

Despite the initial aggression, the early moves were foiled, and the race was still together after the first two laps of seven tours of the main circuit.

On the third lap, however, Cycling Sheffield’s George Wood attacked with Wales Racing Academy’s new recruit Will Harding. The pair created a gap and were quickly joined by Series leader Sam Clark (trainSharp), who bridged across.

The trio worked well together, keeping their chasers at bay. But with one lap remaining, concerned that they might be caught, Wood decided to go it alone, attacking on the last climb. Clark and Harding could not respond, leaving Wood to ride solo for the final 8 kilometres to take the win.

Image: Emma Wilcock

Harding and Clark arrived at the line just under a minute later, Harding getting the better of Clark to take second. Wood’s teammate James Hartley capped off a good day for Cycling Sheffield by leading in a small chasing group to finish 4th.

Clark continues as the Series leader, but Wood is now only four points, with just one round remaining. It takes place on 27 August in the South West of England at the Stars of the South West road race.

On the previous day, Libby Smithson (AWOL O’Shea) had won the JToW U23 & Junior Women’s GP on the same course.

With thanks to George Wood for his help in understanding how the race played out.


116 George WoodU23Cycling Sheffield60
261 William HardingU23Wales Racing Academy52
356 Samuel ClarkU23trainSharp Elite45
413 James HartleyU23Cycling Sheffield40
535 Tom WilliamsU23ROKiT-SRCT35
620 Joe BrookesU23Halesowen A & CC31
733 David HirdU23ROKiT-SRCT27
866 Aaron KingU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli23
924 Rowan BakerU23London Dynamo20
1044 Jacques CoatesU23Team PB Performance17
1117 James WordsworthU23Cycling Sheffield15
1215 Taylor HillU23Cycling Sheffield13
1331 Angus HawkinsU23Ride Revolution Coaching11
1418 Matthew HoulbergU23Embark Spirit BSS9
1534 William TrueloveU23ROKiT-SRCT7
162 Joseph SmithU23Private Member6
1737 Daniel PearcyU23Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA5
185 Jack HartleyU23BCC Race Team3
1949 Kieran RileyU23Team PB Performance2
2019 Sam KettlewellU23Embark Spirit BSS1
2141 Joshua KnowlesU23TAAP Endura0
227 James SatoorU23Bridgnorth Cycling Club0
2365 Jenson BrownU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli0
2432 Matthew WilsonU23Ride Revolution Coaching0
2527 Felix WhetterU23Mid Devon CC0
2610 Guto DafyddU23Clwb Seiclo Llanymddyfri0
2740 Lance ChildsU23TAAP Endura0
2853 Archie EllenU23The Cycling Academy0
2928 Max BoltonU23Oxford University Cycling Club0
3026 Callum StartSeniorMid Devon CC0
3164 Charlie MactearU23WestSide Coaching. 73 Degrees0
3243 Thomas CharlesU23Team PB Performance0
3312 Joe CoukhamU23Cycling Sheffield0
349 Reuben OrrU23Clancy Briggs Cycling Academy0
3555 Sam HolwillU23trainSharp Development Team0
3636 Jenson YoungU23ROKiT-SRCT0
371 William AbbottU23Private Member0
383 Isaac LawrenceU2305/030
3914 James HawkinsU23Cycling Sheffield0
4046 Nathan HardyU23Team PB Performance0
DNF4 Jacob GilkesU23BCC Race Team0
DNF6 Ben PierceU23Bridgnorth Cycling Club0
DNF25 James PearcyU23Mid Devon CC0
DNF39 Freddie GroverU23Sn Vitae Bim Bam Coaching RT0
DNF42 Sam HodgeU23Team IBT – Tripeak0
DNF47 Tom PalfreyU23Team PB Performance0
DNF48 Harry PaveleyU23Team PB Performance0
DNF52 Sam ChisholmU23The Cycling Academy0
DNF54 Daniel GoodwinU23trainSharp Development Team0
DNF57 Joe PidcockU23Trinity Racing Team0
DNF58 Benjamin BrightU23Wales Racing Academy0
DNF59 Huw Buck JonesU23Wales Racing Academy0
DNF60 Spencer DaviesU23Wales Racing Academy0
DNF8 Isaac HenleyU23Caffi Gruff0
DNF67 Alexander BosleyU23Zappi Racing Team0