2023 DAP CC Spring Road Race: mini-preview and startlist

Mini-preview and provisional startlist for the DAP CC Spring Road Race (Nat B), 23 April 2023

The DAP CC Spring Road Race is one of three National B road races this weekend. The Straiton Struggle opens proceedings in Ayrshire on Saturday (22 April), with the DAP CC Spring Road Race and the Dave Peck Memorial following on Sunday (23 April), when there is also the small matter of the Rutland-Melton International CiCLE Classic (UCI 1.2).

Featured image: Olivia Coukham

What is it?

A men’s National B road race on the rural roads of north Suffolk. Organised by DAP Cycling Club, the race is part of the Eastern Road Race League. Samuel Asker (Richardsons Trek DAS) won last season’s race and returns to defend his crown this year.


The 15.2km circuit is one of the flattest around, with just 60m of climbing per lap. The race takes in 8 laps of the circuit, with a total length of 122km.


The race is one for early risers, starting at 9.00 and an approximate finish time of 11.45.

Provisional startlist

Much of the men’s domestic peloton will be racing at the Rutland-Melton International CiCLE Classic on the same day but there are nonetheless a few names of note on the provisional startlist.

Last year’s winner Samuel Asker wears bib number 1. Matthew Lord (also Richardsons Trek DAS) was second last year and lines up again. Rowan Baker (London Dynamo) will look to continue the form that sees him sit third in our national road race rankings. And Clay Davies (Ride Revolution Coaching) was on the podium at the Timmy James Memorial and this course should suit him.

1 Samuel AskerU23Richardsons Trek DAS
2 Morris BaconSeniorDAP Cycling Club
3 Rowan BakerU23London Dynamo
4 Tobias BartlettSeniorDoddington Cycling Club
5 Joseph BearmanSeniorTAAP Endura
6 Ben ChapmanSeniorLondon Dynamo
7 Lee DaviesSeniorLondon Dynamo
8 Clay DaviesSeniorRide Revolution Coaching
9 Louis DiganceSeniorHart Performance Coaching
10 Gary FreemanSeniorOrwell Velo
11 Peter FullerSeniorVelo Schils – Interbike RT
12 Monte GuerriniSeniorLe Col Race Team
13 Peter HargreavesSeniorGFTL
14 Benjamin HelleboSeniorWheelsuckers
15 Archie HilderSeniorLondon Dynamo
16 Rhys HowellsSeniorRichardsons Trek DAS
17 Harry IvesU23trainSharp Development Team
18 Deetray JarrettJuniortrainSharp Development Team
19 Andrew KerrSeniorINFLITE
20 Aidan KerriganU23Lea Valley CC
21 Frank KilsbySeniorTAAP Endura
22 Thomas KingSeniorRibble rechrg Race Team
23 Ryan KleinSeniorVelo Schils – Interbike RT
24 Michael KoreneffSeniorSwitch Racing
25 Callum LabordeU23Wheelbase CabTech Castelli
26 Philip LargeSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo
27 Matthew LockSeniorTAAP Endura
28 Daniel LordU23University of Warwick
29 Matthew LordU23Richardsons Trek DAS
30 Giovanni LuongoSeniorLondon Dynamo
31 Harry MacfarlaneSeniorTAAP Endura
32 Stephen MaxwellSeniorForan CCC
33 Tom MerrySeniorWheelbase CabTech Castelli
34 James O’ConnellSeniorPrivate Member
35 James PearcyU23Mid Devon CC
36 Ian PerrySeniorVelo Schils – Interbike RT
37 Freddy PettSeniorWold Top The Edge Pactimo
38 Daniel ReesSeniorAPI-Metrow/Bodyby JR
39 Mark RichardsSeniorDAP Cycling Club
40 Craig RogersSeniorPrivate Member
41 Alfie SalmonU23Hart Performance Coaching
42 Ryan SavageSeniorFinchley Racing Team
43 Dominic SchilsSeniorVelo Schils – Interbike RT
44 William ScottSeniorRichardsons Trek DAS
45 Sam ShepherdSenior05/03
46 Edmund SlaterSeniorGFTL
47 Joseph SmithU23Private Member
48 Mike SmithSeniorPrivate Member
49 Alexander SpeirsSeniorTAAP Endura
50 Gabriel TaylorU23DAP Cycling Club
51 Benedict ThompsonSeniorPrivate Member
52 Timothy TorrieSeniortrainSharp Elite
53 Archie WallerSeniorLondon Dynamo
54 Matt WatsonU23Ride Revolution Coaching
55 Phil WilliamsSeniorPrivate Member
56 Oliver WoodSeniorVelo Schils – Interbike RT