2022 Dave Peck Memorial: race report and results

Isabel Darvill wins the first round of the British Women's Team Cup, Sunday 27 March

The B-side: a closer look at National B road racing


Isabel Darvill of Pro Noctis-Rotor-Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen sprinted to the win at the Dave Peck Memorial road race on Sunday 27 March, making the best possible start to her team’s defence of their 2021 British Women’s Team Cup title.

The Dave Peck Memorial, organised by Lisa West and her Twickenham CC team, is the traditional opener to the British Women’s Team Cup series. It was held in progressively cold windy weather after the glorious sunshine of the previous day.

The early laps saw no clear breaks. The main action came when they stopped the race to warn the riders not to cross the centre line for their own safety. The bunch continued to stay together as the laps clocked up, with the pace progressively ratcheting up. With the bunch still together as they approached the finish line at the top of the Staple Hill climb, it was clear a mass sprint would decide the honours.

Darvill propelled herself ahead of her rivals in the final few metres to take the biggest win of her career. Emily Proud (Grinta Coaching) finished second, with new Bianchi HUNT Morvélo signing Alice McWilliam in third.

Isabel Darvill with her arm in the air as she crosses the finish line. Photo: Ian Wrightson

“It was not a race really where anyone wanted to just go”, Darvill explained after the race. “Charlotte Berry had a go which got riders to up the pace a bit. We weren’t going really fast, but with three laps to go the pace just kept creeping. I had a couple of problems with my gears but it got sorted.

“On the last lap, we got to the bottom of the climb, the sprint started right at the bottom of that final hill. I did this race in 2019 so knew what to expect when we came round that left bend people just put their foot down and it was a long sprint. It is one of those climbs that there is not enough time from the top of the hill to the finish line to start a sprint so you have got to just go”.


1Isabel DarvillPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen
2Emily ProudGrinta Coaching
4Sian BotteleyTeam LDN – Brother UK
5Helen RalstonPaceline RT
6Madeleine GammonsSaint Piran WRT
7Suzetta GuerriniJadan – Vive le Velo
8Lucy HarrisLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
9Gabriella HomerSaint Piran WRT
10Charlotte BerrySpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus
11Olivia FrenchStorey Racing
12Ellen BennettBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
13Sophie HolmesDatalynx-Parenesis Cycling
14Charlotte DexterGrinta Coaching
15Emily ChiltonSaint Piran WRT
16Ruth FisherAbingdon Race Team
17Abigail CooperBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
18Bethany BarnettAWOL Worx Galliard 
19Penny ColloffLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
20Dannielle WatkinsonTeam LDN – Brother UK
21Poppy ThompsonPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen
22Sannah ZamanBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
23Gabriella NordinJadan – Vive le Velo
24Molly RenferEllmore Digital Composite Team
25Laura SeniorLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
26Charlotte MatthewsOnyx Racing Team
27Fran BrattLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
28Libby SmithsonAWOL Worx Galliard 
29Hope InglisBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
30Bexy DewPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen
31Harriet DoddTeam LDN – Brother UK
32Katarzyna MadejOnyx Racing Team
33Marie-Louise KertzmanLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
34Amber Junker-BrameldEllmore Digital Composite Team
35Rebecca StubbsAvid Sport 
36Polly MilsomTeam Watto-LDN
37Lydia WattsAWOL Worx Galliard 
38Charlotte Hodgkins-ByrneStolenGoat Race Team
39Eloise SinghamAbingdon Race Team
40Kate Voller BrowningPaceline RT
41Laura CunninghamGrinta Coaching
42Sophie EarlSaint Piran WRT
43Laura StarmerTeam Watto-LDN
44Hannah GraveneyAWOL Worx Galliard 
45Savannah MorganAbingdon Race Team
46Francesca CuttsTeam LDN – Brother UK
47Anastasia BowlerCowley Road Condors
48Faith HammondGrinta Coaching
49Jessica HollowayTeam Watto-LDN
50Laura PittardBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
51Freya EcclestonBrother UK-Orientation Marketing
52Lucia BrutonSaint Piran WRT
53Georgia Fife-WrightAbingdon Race Team
54Ella RoperAbingdon Race Team
55Amy HarveyEllmore Digital Composite Team
56Gemma Hayes1904 RT
57Grace DaviesEllmore Digital Composite Team
58Jonna de VriesGrinta Coaching
59Jamie-Lee WrightTeam Watto-LDN
DNFJennifer Andrews1904 RT
DNFVivienne TomlinFTP-Fulfil The Potential-Racing
DNFLena KaneLAKA Pedal Mafia RT
DNSHelen Bridgman1904 RT
DNSPhilippa Jenkins1904 RT
DNSMathilde Pauls1904 RT
DNSCarolyn Swan1904 RT
DNSMatea DeliuJadan – Vive le Velo
DNSLauren HighamTeam LDN – Brother UK

Competition standings

1Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen205
2Saint Piran WRT194
3Grinta Coaching192
4Team LDN – Brother UK162
5LAKA Pedal Mafia RT154
6Brother UK-Orientation marketing143
8Paceline RT103
9Jadan – Vive le Velo100
10AWOL Worx Galliard 87
11Abingdon Race Team64
12Spectra Wiggle p/b vitus55
13Storey Racing52
14Onyx Racing Team48
15Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling47
16Team Watto-LDN32
17Avid Sport 18
18StolenGoat Race Team15
19Cowley Road Condors6
201904 RT1

Featured photo: Ian Wrightson