Features Standings

National Road Series: Standings #2

The standings of the women's and men's National Road Series after round 2

22 August. HSBC UK | National Road Series standings after Round 2 – the Ryedale Grasscrete Grand Prix. Results and report here.

Featured photo: James York.

Women’s standings



Natalie Grinczer’s (CAMS-Basso Bikes) consistent showing has given her the series lead, after finishing 5th at the Women’s CiCLE Classic and 9th at Ryedale. Her teammate Illi Gardner is second after winning Ryedale, equal on points with Women’s CiCLE Classic winner Abi Smith (Team Breeze) and Corinne Side (Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen). It’s all very close though, with a number of riders capable of taking the overall series win in the final round at the Curlew Cup in September.

1Natalie GrinczerCAMS-Basso36
2Illi GardnerCAMS-Basso30
3Abi SmithTeam Breeze30
4Corinne SidePro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen30
5Becky StorrieBrother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm28
6Ellen McDermottTeam Boompods28
7Eluned KingTeam Breeze26
8Jo TindleyPro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen26
9Francesca Morgans-SladerAWOL O’Shea24
10April TaceyDrops-Le Col supported by Tempur24
11Connie HayesAWOL O’Shea22
12Danielle ShrosbreeTeam LDN – Brother UK21
13Anna KayTeam Rupelcleaning – Champion Lubricants20
14Amira MellorSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus20
15Jessica FinneyCAMS-Basso19
16Lucy EllmoreSkoda DSI Cycling Academy18
17Sophie ThackrayBC Private Member16
18Beth MorrowStorey Racing14
19Samantha StuartCrimson Orientation Marketing RT12
20Nicole CoatesTorelli-Assure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar10
21Zoe BackstedtTormans-ACROG10
22Francesca HallLoughborough Lightning TRG10
23Lucy GaddStorey Racing10
24Morven YeomanTofauti Everyone Active9
25Grace ListerCero – Cycle Division Racing Team9
26Flora PerkinsVC Londres8
27Megan BarkerCAMS-Basso7
28Eilidh ShawTofauti Everyone Active6
29Elizabeth BennettDrops-Le Col supported by Tempur3
30Lucy LeeTeam LDN – Brother UK2
31Samantha FawcettPro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen1
32Charlotte ColcloughBianchi Dama1


Three riders – Gardner, Smith and Side – are on equal points in the under-23 competition.

1Illi GardnerCAMS-Basso30
2Abi SmithTeam Breeze30
3Corinne SidePro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen30
4Eluned KingTeam Breeze26
5April TaceyDrops-Le Col supported by Tempur24
6Connie HayesAWOL OShea22
7Anna KayTeam Rupelcleaning – Champion Lubricants20
8Amira MellorSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus20
9Lucy EllmoreSkoda DSI Cycling Academy18
10Sophie ThackrayCAMS-Basso16
11Beth MorrowStorey Racing14
12Nicole CoatesTorelli-Assure-Cayman Islands-Scimitar10
13Zoe BackstedtTormans-ACROG10
14Lucy GaddStorey Racing10
15Morven YeomanTofauti Everyone Active9
16Grace ListerCero – Cycle Division Racing Team9
17Flora PerkinsVC Londres8
18Eilidh ShawTofauti Everyone Active6
19Elizabeth BennettDrops-Le Col supported by Tempur3


CAMS-Basso Bikes move ahead of Team Breeze (absent at Ryedale) in the team standings and have a comfortable lead with one round remaining. Elite team Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen are second. They were second in the Tour Series too, demonstrating they are one of the strongest domestic outfits in 2021. Team Breeze are in third despite not racing (they were are the U23 Euro track champs), while UCI team AWOL O’Shea move up to 4th after placing two riders in the top five at Ryedale.

2Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes -Heidi Kjeldsen57
3Team Breeze56
4AWOL O’Shea46
5Team Boompods28
6Brother U.K – Cycle Team OnForm28
7Drops-Le Col supported by Tempur27
8Storey Racing24
9Team LDN – Brother UK23
10Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus20
11Skoda DSI Cycling Academy18
12Crimson Orientation Marketing RT12
13Loughborough Lightning TRG10
14Bianchi Dama1

Men’s standings



Jacob Scott (Canyon dhb SunGod) takes the series lead after backing up his 2nd place at the Lancaster GP with 9th in Ryedale. Very close behind are the under-23 duo of Isaac Peatfield (Crimson Orientation Marketing RT) and Finn Crockett (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli). Ryedale winner Alex Peters (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling) is now 4th, tied on points with Lancaster victor – and new teammate – Josh Whitehhead.

1Jacob ScottCanyon DHB Sungod42
2Isaac PeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT40
3Finn CrockettWheelbase CabTech Castelli38
4Alex PetersSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling30
5Josh WhiteheadTeam PB Performance30
6Toby BarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT28
7Oliver ReesTrinity Road Racing26
8Isaac MundyRichardsons-Trek DAS24
9Max StedmanCanyon DHB Sungod22
10Ben GrangerZappi Racing Team22
11Ryan ChristensenCanyon DHB Sungod22
12George KimberSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor22
13Callum MacleodCanyon DHB Sungod20
14Samuel BeckettWales Racing Academy19
15Leon MazzoneCrimson Orientation Marketing RT19
16Oliver PeckoverSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling18
17Matti DobbinsRT2317
18Owain RobertsWales Racing Academy17
19Steve LampierSaint Piran13
20Daniel TulettCanyon DHB Sungod12
21James ShawRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling9
22Ross LambSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling8
23Adam MitchellCrimson Orientation Marketing RT8
24Cameron BiddleVredestein Basso6
25Michael ChadwickClancy Briggs Cycling Academy6
26Conor McGoldrickPrimera-TeamJobs5
27Oliver HucksNopinz Motip Race Team3
28Peter CockerRichardsons-Trek DAS2
29Damien ClaytonCanyon DHB Sungod1
30Matthew KingTeam PB Performance1


Peatfield and Crockett lead the under-23 standings, with Josh Whitehead in third.

1Isaac PeatfieldCrimson Orientation Marketing RT40
2Finn CrockettWheelbase CabTech Castelli38
3Josh WhiteheadTeam PB Performance30
4Toby BarnesCrimson Orientation Marketing RT28
5Oliver ReesTrinity Road Racing26
6Ben GrangerZappi Racing Team22
7George KimberSpirit Bontrager BSS Rotor22
8Callum MacleodCanyon DHB Sungod20
9Samuel BeckettWales Racing Academy19
10Oliver PeckoverSwiftCarbon Pro Cycling18
11Matti DobbinsRT2317
12Owain RobertsWales Racing Academy17
13Daniel TulettCanyon DHB Sungod12
14Adam MitchellCrimson Orientation Marketing RT8


With three riders in the top ten at both Lancaster and Ryedale, Canyon dhb SunGod lead the team standings. Elite team Crimson Orientation Marketing RT once again proved their strength at Ryedale and now sit comfortably in second. It’s a shame we won’t get to see them at the Tour of Britain, with the form and talent their young squad have.

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling move up to third after Peters’ win and a strong team performance and minnows Wheelbase CabTech Castelli are in 4th thanks to Finn Crockett. Once again, the table is dominated by the elite teams, with TRINITY, Saint Piran and Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling well down the standings.

1Canyon DHB Sungod116
2Crimson Orientation Marketing RT95
3SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling56
4Wheelbase CabTech Castelli38
5Wales Racing Academy36
6Team PB Performance31
7TRINITY Road Racing26
8Richardsons-Trek DAS26
9Zappi Racing Team22
10Spirit Bontrager BSS Rotor22
11Saint Piran13
12Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling9
13Vredestein Basso6
14Clancy Briggs Cycling Academy6