Explainers Races

2020 HSBC UK | National Circuit Series: an explainer

A brief guide to British Cycling's national circuit series

The men’s HSBC UK | National Circuit Series starts this year with the Otley Grand Prix on 24 June. This brief explainer tells you what it is and how it works.

What is it?

A series of town centre crits held every summer, organised by British Cycling.

This year the men’s series has shrunk from six races to four, whilst the women’s series has disappeared altogether. Instead, the women’s National Road Series will include one circuit race, at Otley.

What are the races?

The 2020 series has encompasses four races. In addition, we understand the Barnsley Town Centre Races will continue but will host the national circuit championships this season instead of being part of the Circuit Series.

24 Jun1Property Development Men’s Otley Grand Prix
3 Jul2The Wales Open Criterium
8 Jul3Sheffield Grand Prix
21 Jul4Fort Vale Colne Grand Prix


Points are awarded to riders finishing in the first 20 places of each race:

30, 28, 26, 24, 22, 20, 18, 16, 14, 12, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

The overall winner of the Series is the rider who gains the highest total number of points across the Series, with all rounds to count.

In the event of a points tie, the individual winner will be decided based on countback of the number of first places achieved then the number of second places achieved and so on.

Read more

Our explainer on the National Road Series is here.

The British Cycling pages on the National Circuit Series can be found here. The series regulations can be accessed here.

Featured photo: Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com. 2019 HSBC UK Men’s National Circuit Series – Colne Grand Prix, Lancashire, England – Matt Bostock (Canyon DHB p/b Bloor Homes) wins ahead of Jon Mould (Madison Genesis) and Ollie Wood.