Features Teams

2020 domestic team guide

A 'live' overview of how the domestic teams are shaping up for 2020

Overview of how the domestic road race teams are shaping up for 2020.

This is a ‘live’ post that will be updated as team news emerges.

Latest update: 14 October 2019

2019 Grasscrete Ryedale Grand Prix. Photo: James York / www.jamesyorkphoto.com

Continental teams

With both the Madison Genesis and Team Wiggins Le Col teams closing at the end of 2019 it seems certain there will be fewer British Continental teams in 2020. Which teams can we expect to see a the Continental level next year? Here’s what we know so far…

Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes

Whilst there has been no formal confirmation that the most successful domestic team of 2019 will continue next year, all the behind-the-scenes signs are that the team has been busy putting in place preparations for its 6th season.

Three departures have been announced so far, including one of our U23 riders to watch, Jacob Vaughan. Their talisman of 2019, Rory Townsend, has said he doesn’t know where he’ll be riding next season.



Departures: Stijn de Bock (Tarteletto-Isorex), Louis Rose-Davies (Holdsworth-Zappi), Jacob Vaughan (Baguet-MIBA-Indulek-Derito)

Unknown: Matt Bostock, Ryan Christensen, Alex Colman, Tom Stewart, Dan Pearson, Robert-Jon McCarthy, Rory Townsend, Max Stedman, Gosse Van der Meer, Oliver Wood, Jacob Hennessy, Andrew Tennant, Callum MacLeod, Charles Page, Charlie Tanfield, Alexander Richardson, Alex Paton

Ribble Pro Cycling

Ribble Pro Cycling have set about announcing their 2020 team earlier than their peers. 14 of the squad have been announced so far, which has retained the core of its 2019 members, supplemented with some young blood. After a limited number of UCI race days in 2019, we hear the team plan to race on the continent more often in 2020.

New arrivals include three talented first-year seniors: George Mills-Keeling (2nd overall in the 2019 Junior Tour of Wales), Irish junior time trial champion Kevin McCambridge and homegrown talent Joe Wilson. 23-year-old Olly Moors also joins after three years honing his racecraft out in Belgium.

In: Kevin McCambridge (Vitus – Chill.IE NRPT), George Mills-Keeling (Cycle Club Bridgnorth), Olly Moors (VDM Van Durme-Michiels-Trawobo), Joe Wilson (Ribble Pro Cycling U19)

Extended: John Archibald, Scott Auld, Dan Bigham, William Brown, Damien Clayton, Richard Jones, Zeb Kyffin, Gruff Lewis, Mark Stewart, Simon Wilson


Unknown: Alex Dalton, Jake Gray, Alex Luhrs, Jack Rees, Chris Sherriffs, Jacob Tipper

Saint Piran (tbc)

Rider-manager Steve Lampier has revealed his Cornish-based team is seriously considering stepping up to Continental level in 2020, spurred on by the opportunity to ride in the Tour of Britain, which starts in Cornwall next season. Beyond that, we know very little so far, other than 2020 will Lampier’s final season as a rider. Oh, and Cameron Jeffers – recently disqualified as the British eRacing champion – will also stay on.


Extended: Cameron Jeffers, Steve Lampier


Unknown: Jake Alderman, Ollie Blagden, Joe Evans, William Harper, Joe Healey, Ollie Maxwell, Matt Nowell, Alfie Peters, Alex Platt

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling (tbc)

SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling were one of the surprise packages of 2019, regularly outperforming their domestic rivals, in large part to the outstanding James Shaw and Jacob Scott.

We have heard conflicting reports about the team’s future. The latest information we have is that they will continue, but this is the team we have the least certainty about so far.



Departures: Jordan Reed (Holdsworth-Zappi)

Unknown: William Bjergfelt, Stephen Bradbury, Ben Hardy, Ross Lamb, Ed Laverack, Tristan Robbins, Jacob Scott, James Shaw, Andrew Turner, Julian Varley, Pete Williams, George Wood

Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK

The longest-running Continental team in the UK (Cherie Pridham Racing) will begin its 8th year in 2020.

We don’t yet know much about the make-up of the squad, although national circuit race champion Joey Walker looks like a shrewd early signing. They will, however, lose one of their best performers in 2019, Ali Slater, who will step down to the elite level. Graham Briggs is expected to do the same as they both put their energies into the new Clancy Briggs Cycling Academy.

In: Joey Walker (Madison Genesis)


Departures: Graham Briggs (?), Ali Slater (?), Red Walters (Nopinz Symec)

Unknown: Ed Clancy, Joe Holt, Adam Kenway, Dylan Kerfoot-Robson, Chris Latham, Chris McGinchley, Michael Mottram, Frederik Schescke, Scott Thwaites, Timothy Torrie

2019 Otley Cycle Races. Photo: James York /  www.jamesyorkphoto.com

Elite and national teams

Great Britain Cycling Team Senior Academy

The ‘seventh team‘ – effectively the British Cycling U23 men’s squad – increases in number from 7 to 8 riders in 2019-20. Four juniors step up from Junior Academy, including Sam Watson. Meanwhile, four existing members stay on, including one of the U23 riders of the year, Fred Wright, and our Tour of Britain diarist Ethan Vernon.

Three riders leave the team. Jim Brown moves to top-level French elite team CC Etupes (Adam Yates’ former team), Matt Walls will step up to the Podium Programme with Tokyo in his sights (but may also join a pro team, so *watch this space*), whilst Joe Nally’s future in cycling is less certain.

In: Zach Bridges (Team HUUB), Alfie George (Discovery Junior Cycling Club), Max Rushby (HMT Hospitals Giant Cycling Team), Sam Watson (Fenshaw Howes -MAS Design)

Extended: Rhys Britton, William Tidball, Ethan Vernon, Fred Wright

Departures: Jim Brown (CC Etupes), Joe Nally (?), Matt Walls (?)


In: Christian Bahr (Team OK Kvickly Odder), Oliver Knudsen (Team OK Kvickly Odder), Connor Lambert (Mysenlan-Baboco-Douterloigne), Tom Martin (Wheelbase CabTech Castelli), Mitchell McLaughlin (Four Masters CC), Jordan Reed (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling), Louis Rose-Davies (Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes), George Smith (Nopinz Latchem), Alex Williams (Independent)

Extended: Charlie Beake, Marcus Burnett, Tom Cornwell, Tom Couzens, Mason Hollyman, Calum Johnston, Karl Tronstad, Reece Wood, Paul Wright

Departures: Charlie Quarterman (Trek-Segafredo)

Unknown: Conor Chandler, Daniel Eklof, George Kimber, Tim James, Nic McKibben, Fergus Robinson, Jason Saltzman


We understand that Trinity Sports Management will run a compact elite-level development team in 2020 under the same ‘TRINITY Racing’ moniker as Tom Pidcock’s new cyclocross team. Pidcock will head the team up, which will also includes Tour de L’Avenir stage winner Ben Healy. The team will ride Specialized bikes and wear MAAP clothing, just like the cyclocross team. Read more here.

In: Tom Pidcock, Ben Healy

Crimson Performance Orientation Marketing


Extended: Alistair Thomas



Cycling Sheffield



Departures: Daniel Pullen (L’ASPTT Nancy)





Departures: Lewis Bulley (Baguet-MIBA-Indulek-Derito)


Spirit Tifosi





Wales Racing Academy


Extended: Peter Kibble, Josh Price

Departures: James Tillett (VC Toucy-Elite Restauration)


Featured image: Alex Whitehead/SWpix.com. 14/04/2019 – British Cycling – HSBC UK Men’s National Road Series – East Cleveland Klondike GP