The B-side

National road race rankings: 1 April

Samuel Beckett and Becky Storrie continue to lead The British Continental national road rankings after the weekend of 26-27 March

The British Continental national road race rankings, updated following the Capenwray road races, the Dave Peck Memorial, the Bynea Early Season road race and the Coalville Wheeler’s road race on weekend of 26-27 March.

Previous update: 22 March.

Featured photo: Ellen Isherwood

Men’s national road race rankings

20-year-old Samuel Beckett (Wales Racing Academy) continues his reign at the top of the men’s national road race rankings after winning his second National road race of the year, the Bynea Early Season road race. WiV SunGod’s Josh Whitehead, another under-23, moves up to second place, from sixth, thanks to his fourth at the Capenwray road race.

Behind Beckett and Whitehead are three Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling riders. Crockett is in third after his second Nat B win of the year at Capenwray, while Kyffin and Peters, also on the podium at Capenwray, lay in fourth and fifth respectively.

Alex Richardson (Le Col), Farley Barber (Spirit BSS), Yanto Barker (Le Col and George Peden (Team PB Performance) all drop down the rankings slightly having not raced last weekend, while Evesham Vale road race winner Seb Garry (Nopinz Motip Race Team) climbs back into the top ten after finishing seventh at the Coalville Wheeler’s road race.

This weekend there are a further three National B road races: the RCR Fatcreations Men’s Road Race and the Spokes RT – Alford Road Race on Saturday (2 April) and the Danum Trophy Road Race on Sunday (3 April).

#First nameSurnameTeamTotal
1SamuelBeckettWales Racing Academy182
2JoshWhiteheadWiV Sungod121
3FinnCrockettRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling120
4ZebKyffinRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling119
5AlexPetersRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling117
6AlexandarRichardsonLe Col112
7FarleyBarberSpirit BSS108
8YantoBarkerLe Col105
9GeorgePedenTeam PB Performance93
10SebGarryNopinz Motip Race Team87
11DamienClaytonWiV SunGod80
12EdwardMorganWales Racing Academy80
13OwainRobertsWales Racing Academy79
14CameronBiddleEmbark – Bikestrong78
15JamesJenkinsRichardsons Trek DAS75
16JordanRetallackTeam 05/0372
17ChrisMcNamaraNunn-Sigma Sport-London RT66
19JoeWilsonDolan Ellesse Race Team65
20TobyBarnesWiV Sungod60
21HarryTanfieldRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling60
22JamesHarrisonManx Viking Wheelers CC55
23MatthewKingRibble Weldtite Pro Cycling54
24CameronMcLarenNopinz Motip Race Team54
25AngusHawkinsSpirit BSS52
26JamesJobberKuwait Pro Cycling Team52
27GeorgeKimberSpirit BSS52
28MichaelMottramSpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus52
29SamuelPainterLa Tova52
30JackFreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT49

Women’s national road race rankings

Two women’s road races took place last weekend, the Capenwray road race, won by Mary Wilkinson (Team Boompods), and the Dave Peck Memorial, won by Isabel Darvill (Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen). Those two riders move into the top ten of the updated rankings (tied in 6th place), while Emily Proud (Grinta Coaching), is also a new entrant in the top ten having finished second at the Dave Peck.

Becky Storrie (CAMS-Basso) extends her lead in the rankings after finishing second at Capenwray. Lucy Ellmore (Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen) moves up to second place from fourth thanks to her ninth place in the same race; she is also the leading under-23 in the rankings. While Oliva Bentley, fourth at Capenwray, moves from sixth in the rankings to third.

There are no women’s National B road races now until the Coalville Wheeler’s Road Race on 17 April, which will form round 2 of the British Women’s Team Cup.

#First nameSurnameTeamTotal
2LucyEllmorePro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen85
3OliviaBentleyTorelli-Cayman Islands-Scimitar84
4LeahDixonBianchi HUNT Morvélo80
5NicoleCoatesTorelli-Cayman Islands-Scimitar67
6IsabelDarvillPro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen60
=MaryWilkinsonTeam Boompods60
8AmyGrahamTeam Boompods58
9KerryMiddletonTeam LDN – Brother UK53
10EmilyProudGrinta Coaching52
=SammieStuartTeam LDN – Brother UK45
14SianBotteleyTeam LDN – Brother UK43
15MonicaGreenwoodMacclesfield Wheelers41
16HelenRalstonPaceline RT35
17HollyBreckTorelli-Cayman Islands-Scimitar33
=LucyLeeTeam LDN – Brother UK33
=CorinneSidePro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen33
20JessieCarridgeBrother UK – Orientation Marketing31
=MadeleineGammonsSaint Piran WRT31
22SuzettaGuerriniJadan – Vive le Velo28
23LucyHarrisLAKA Pedal Mafia RT23
24GabriellaHomerSaint Piran WRT20
26CharlotteBerrySpectra Wiggle p/b Vitus17
27EllenMcDermottTeam Boompods16
28OliviaFrenchStorey Racing15
=ChristinaWiejakSaint Piran WRT15
30HannahBayesSaint Piran WRT14